Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/25/2023 14:50:53

Sponsor 743
March 20
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Buckeye Spring 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated March 21, 12:34 pm)
Davenport dominates for $10,000 Atomic victory
Buckeye Spring 50
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Josh Richards
  3. Mason Zeigler
  4. Chris Brown
  5. Jimmy Owens
  6. Steve Francis
  7. Devin Moran
  8. Dennis Erb Jr.
  9. Don O'Neal
  10. Dustin Linville
  11. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  12. Tim Dohm
  13. Earl Pearson Jr.
  14. Bobby Pierce
  15. Jared Landers
  16. Matt Westfall
  17. Billy Moyer Jr.
  18. Duane Chamberlain
  19. Greggie Oliver
  20. Kent Robinson
  21. Scott Bloomquist
  22. Tim McCreadie
  23. Freddie Carpenter
  24. Steve Casebolt
  25. Davey Johnson
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Jonathan Davenport and track owner Brad McCown at Atomic Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., dominated all 50 laps of Atomic Speedway's Buckeye Spring 50, earning a $10,000 payday his second Lucas Oil Series victory of the 2015 season.
Key notes: Lucas Oil competitors returned to Atomic for the first time since 2011. ... Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., lowered the track record in time trials.
On the move: Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., rallied from the 17th starting spot to finish third.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport's Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by CV Racing Product, Dirtwrap, FK Rod Ends, JRi Shocks, K&L Rumley Enterprises, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Sundance Services and TS Crane Service.
Points chase: Following Friday's victory, Davenport has 1,070 points over Earl Pearson Jr. (990) and and Jimmy Owens (985).
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Jimmy Owens
Time: 12.748 seconds
Polesitter: Jonathan Davenport
Heat race winners: Jonathan Davenport, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, Chris Brown
Consolation race winners: Mason Zeigler, Scott Bloomquist
Provisional starters: Dennis Erb Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Greggie Oliver
Next series race: March 21, Brownstown Speedway (Brownstown, IN) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

ALMA, Ohio (March 20) — The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has a new points leader.  Leading every lap of Friday’s Buckeye Spring 50 at Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe, Ohio, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., took control of the leader board, earning a $10,000 payday in his second series victory of 2015.

Picking up a win a in the first heat race, Davenport started on the pole of Friday’s main event, charging to a commanding lead at the drop of the green flag. Setting a blistering pace over the rest of the field, Davenport turned back an early challenge from Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., to notch a convincing victory in the series first Atomic stop since 2011.

“The racetrack was fast and aggressive, pretty rough there,” Davenport said. “We felt like that was the best line to run, right around the top through the holes. It was definitely easy to make a mistake, but we pulled through. I have to thank Kevin (Rumley) and the crew and everybody. Just had a real good night.”

Third-starting Richards held on to finish second, with Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., rallying from the 17th starting position to finish third. Chris Brown of Spring, Texas, finished fourth, with three-time Lucas Oil Series champion Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., rounding out the top-five.

“We got a good run on that restart,” Richards said of his early challenge for the lead. “I knew if we could get in front of him it would be harder for him to hold that line and harder for him to pass me. Once you hold that line, it’s hard to pass people when everyone’s going so fast. He just got me back there and got momentum back.

“It was a handful there at the end. We knocked our nose … I didn’t realize how bad it was until after we pulled in with like 15 laps to go. I just had to race defense after that. We were still OK … Davenport just had the car to beat. Those guys did a really great job. I think we might have had something for them if we kept the nose up. On top of that, the throttle was sticking too. We salvaged a good finish out of it. We came here to test some things and I think everything’s going in the right direction.”

Transferring to the 50-lap A-main through a consolation race, Zeigler hopes to build on his third-place run.

“We’re excited,” Zeigler said. “Hopefully we can qualify a little bit better and be sitting a lot better feature time. Any time we run good, it seems like we come from the back. Hopefully we can turn that around and start up front so we can run up front.”

As the new Lucas Oil points leader, Davenport enters Saturday’s series event at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway with an 80-point advantage over Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla.

“That’s cool, definitely, to be able to take it north of the Mason-Dixon line,” Davenport said. “That’s where I’m from, the South, that’s where I’ve always raced. It’s cool to take over the points lead and to do it, well, not in the South.”

The race was slowed by six cautions. The first yellow flew on lap 12 when fifth-running Jared Landers slid over the turn-two berm. Scott Blomquist drew a lap-14 caution when he nearly slid off the backstretch berm. Landers and Chamberlain were also involved in the yellow. Another yellow flew on lap 18 when 12th-running Tim McCreadie slowed on the backstretch. The race was halted by a red flag on lap 24 when Greggie Oliver rolled his No. 47 machine in turn three; he was uninjured. Billy Moyer Jr. drew a caution on lap 31 when he slowed in turn one. The final yellow flew on lap 39 from debris on the racing surface.

Lucas Oil points

(Through March 20)
1. Jonathan Davenport - 1,070
2. Earl Pearson Jr. - 990
3. Jimmy Owens - 985
4. Jared Landers - 955
5. Eddie Carrier Jr. - 930
6. Don O'Neal - 910
7. Steve Francis - 905
(tie) Devin Moran - 905
9. Dennis Erb Jr. - 850
10. Brandon Sheppard - 845
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information