Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1278
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 12:07:49

Sponsor 743
October 15
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (SLMR Championship) - $5,300
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 18, 3:54 pm)
Pospisil cruises to win $5,300 farewell at I-80
SLMR Championship
  1. Tad Pospisil
  2. Justin Zeitner
  3. Bill Leighton Jr.
  4. Jesse Sobbing
  5. J.C. Wyman
  6. Justin Kay
  7. Dave Eckrich
  8. Chad Holladay
  9. Zach Zeitner
  10. Ben Schaller
  11. Josh Krug
  12. Charlie McKenna
  13. Blair Nothdurft
  14. Brian Kosiski
  15. Cale Osborn
  16. Matt Ryan
  17. Luke Goedert
  18. Curt Schroeder
  19. Jay Burdic
  20. Corey Zeitner
  21. Kyle Berck
  22. Jake Neal
  23. Derrick Stewart
  24. Curtis Glover
  25. Andrew Kosiski
  26. Andy Eckrich
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Tad Pospisil takes his final checkers at I-80 Speedway.
What won the race: In what's expected to be the final event at I-80 Speedway, Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb., took the lead on lap 25 Saturday and never looked back, pacing the final 29 circuits for a $5,300 payday at I-80 Speedway. Pospisil's victory is the 32nd of his career with the Malvern Bank Series and his sixth with the Hoker Trucking Series.
Key notes: Saturday's co-sanctioned finale served as the final event in I-80 Speedway's 19-year history, as the Kosiski-owned facility is scheduled to shutter the gates. ... Pospisil has won three of the last four Malvern-Hoker events at I-80. ... Justin Zeitner of Malvern, Iowa advanced 15 positions to finish second, 3.552 seconds back. ... Polesitter Bill Leighton Jr. failed to lead a lap and finished third. ... Jesse Sobbing of Malvern, Iowa finished fourth and clinched his first career Malvern Bank Series championship. ... Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa gained six positions and finished sixth, securing his second consecutive Hoker Trucking Series title. ... Chad Holladay advanced seven positions and finished eighth. ... Zach Zeitner gained five spots and finished ninth. ... Ben Schaller moved forward eight positions and finished 10th. ... Four-time Malvern Bank Series winner this year, Kyle Berck ran as high as third before pulling off on lap 31. ... Jake Neal led the first 24 laps before being overtaken by Pospisil and retiring on lap 30. ... Saturday's feature, the season finale for both Iowa-based touring series, was slowed by four cautions and lasted 31 minutes, with 13 drivers completing 53 laps.
On the move: Justin Zeitner of Malvern, Iowa started 17th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Pospisil’s Team Zero Race Car is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Window World, Signor Trucking, Dietz Well & Pump, Keyser Manufacturing, Bam Roller Lifters, Penske Racing Shocks, ASI Racewear, Sehi & Associates CPAs and KIX 106.7-FM.
Points chase: Hoker Trucking final: 1. Justin Kay (3,238); 2. Luke Goedert (3,096); 3. Charlie McKenna (3,088); 4. Andy Eckrich (3,076); 5. Matt Ryan (3,016). Malvern Bank finale: 1. Jesse Sobbing (3,068); 2. Bill Leighton Jr. (3,060); 3. Tad Pospisil (2,968); 4. Jake Neal (2,926); 5. Corey Zeitner (2,908).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Kyle Berck
Time: 17.249 seconds
Polesitter: Bill Leighton Jr.
Heat race winners: Jesse Sobbing, Jake Neal, Justin Kay, Charlie McKenna
Consolation race winners: Justin Zeitner, Ben Schaller
Provisional starters: Curt Schroeder, Luke Goedert, Brian Kosiski, Matt Ryan, Curtis Glover, Jay Burdic
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Leighton Jr., Neal
Row 2: Sobbing, Pospisil
Row 3: Berck, A. Kosiski
Row 4: Wyman, C. Zeitner
Row 5: Krug, D. Eckrich
Row 6: Osborn, Kay
Row 7: McKenna, Z. Zeitner
Row 8: Holladay, Nothdurft
Row 9: J. Zeitner, Schaller
Row 10: A. Eckrich, Stewart
Row 11: Schroeder, Goedert
Row 12: B. Kosiski, Ryan
Row 13: Glover, Burdic
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information