Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 10:55:22

Sponsor 743
September 30
Sycamore Speedway,
Maple Park, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Harvest Hustle) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 1, 8:30 pm)
Simpson harvests $5,000 MLRA win at Sycamore
Harvest Hustle
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Brian Shirley
  3. Jason Feger
  4. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.
  6. Kolby Vandenbergh
  7. Mike Mataragas
  8. Jeff Larson
  9. Kaeden Cornell
  10. Rusty Schlenk
  11. Taylor Scheffler
  12. David Webster
  13. Dale Markham
  14. Charlie McKenna
  15. Dan Kuhn
  16. Mike Provenzano
  17. Mike Spatola
  18. Titus Sneed
  19. Wayne Freimund
  20. Paul Parker
  21. Lyle Zanker
  22. Justin Duty
  23. Daniel Hilsabeck
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chad Simpson celebrates a $5,000 MLRA victory at Sycamore Speedway.
What won the race: Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led all 40 laps at Sycamore Speedway on Friday, winning the $5,000 Harvest Hustle and earning his 16th career feature victory with the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association. Simpson's triumph was his second of the year and his series-best 10th top-five finish and helped him further extend his series points lead.
Quotable: “You’ve got the best of Illinois right here, so to outrun these guys over here on their turf, and for this being our second time here, hats off to my crew, my guys,” Simpson said. “The last couple weeks and month have been pretty rough for us and I think we finally hit on something here that we can hopefully move forward with from here.”
Key notes: After trading second place multiple times, Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., secured the runner-up position, 2.001 seconds behind Simpson. ... Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., advanced eight positions and finished third. ... Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, Ill., finished fourth and has top-five runs in all four of his MLRA starts this year. ... World of Outlaws Case Late Models points leader Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., finished fifth. ... Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., gained six spots and finished eighth. ... Polesitter Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., failed to lead a lap and retired on lap 25, finishing 17th. ... Friday's feature, the second-ever visit to Sycamore Speedway for the MLRA tour, was slowed by four cautions and lasted 33 minutes with 13 drivers completing all 40 laps. ... The weekend doubleheader at Sycamore concludes on Saturday with another complete $7,000-to-win program.
On the move: Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., started 11th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Black Diamond Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine with sponsorship from Ideal Ready mix, Randy Davidson Trucking, Wehrs Machine, Michelle Ruefer Chiropractic, Subway, Performance Bodies, Simpson Farms, Midwest Frame & Axle, Burich Trucking, D&K, Volker Trucking, Five Star Shop Service, Bilstein Shocks, Swift Springs and BMRE Electric Carts.
Points chase: After Sycamore Friday: 1. Chad Simpson (4,120); 2. Kolby Vandenbergh (3,720); 3. Daniel Hilsabeck (3,395); 4. Steve Stultz (2,865); 5. Johnny Scott (2,635).
Expected entrants:
Current weather: Clear, 50°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Mike Mataragas
Time: 14.148 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Spatola
Heat race winners: Mike Spatola, Chad Simpson, Brian Shirley
Next series race: October 1, Sycamore Speedway (Maple Park, IL) $7,000
Editor's note: Corrects Simpson's engine to Pro Power and updates sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Spatola, Cha. Simpson
Row 2: Shirley, Mataragas
Row 3: Heckenast, Vandenbergh
Row 4: Duty, Erb Jr.
Row 5: Cornell, Zanker
Row 6: Feger, Schlenk
Row 7: Markham, J. Larson
Row 8: McKenna, Provenzano
Row 9: Scheffler, Parker
Row 10: Webster, Sneed
Row 11: Kuhn, Freimund
Row 12: Hilsabeck
Sponsor 1272
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information