Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/14/2024 21:57:06

Sponsor 743
July 30
Lavonia Speedway,
Lavonia, GA
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Buck Simmons Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 31, 1:30 pm)
Mitchell wins $5,000 Buck Simmons Memorial
Buck Simmons Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Michael Brown
  3. Ben Watkins
  4. Payton Freeman
  5. Cla Knight
  6. Brett Hamm
  7. Adam Yarbrough
  8. Brian Nuttall Jr.
  9. Dennis Franklin
  10. Anthony Sanders
  11. Nick Schlager
  12. Jeff Smith
  13. Corey Roulette
  14. Kale Green
  15. David Yandle
  16. Will Harris
  17. Mike Huey
  18. Daulton Wilson
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Zack Mitchell takes the checkered flag at Lavonia Speedway.
What won the race: Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C. regained the lead from Michael Brown on the 28th lap at Lavonia Speedway to capture Friday's $5,000 Buck Simmons Memorial on the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series. Brown, who led laps 23-27, finished 0.405 seconds back as the runner-up and moved into the series points lead.
Quotable: "They put a good race car up under me. We just had a little bit of trouble getting around lapped cars," Mitchell said. "But I mean, that's part of it. ... we've been struggling with this thing the past couple of months, but I believe we've got it back on track."
Key notes: Zack Mitchell and Michael Brown put on a show while battling for the lead. ... Brown was able to overtake Mitchell for the top spot on lap 23 only to have Mitchell get back around to lead the remaining 13 laps to victory. ... Mitchell earned his 10th career Carolina Clash victory. ... Lavonia's Buck Simmons Memorial paid tribute to the Hall of Fame driver, the winner of more than 1,000 feature races.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Barry Wright Race Cars house car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Service Transport, Clary Hood Inc., Eubanks Oil Company, Draco Springs, Charles West Grading, Base Racing Fuel and Oil, C&H Paving, Bilstein Shocks, Nichols Plumbing and ATC Site Construction.
Points chase: After Lavonia: 1. Michael Brown (648); 2. Jeff Smith (627); 3. Anthony Sanders (582); 4. Brett Hamm (479); 5. Brian Nuttall Jr. (540); 6. David Yandle (516); 7. Mike Huey (454); 8. Ross Bailes (433); 9. Daulton Wilson (428); 10. Kale Green (424).
Expected entrants: .
Current weather: Clear, 84°F
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 15.267 seconds
Next series race: August 13, Carolina Speedway (Gastonia, NC) $5,000
Editor's note: Adds winner's engine builder.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information