Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 21:46:16

Sponsor 743
July 23
Thunder Mountain Speedway,
Knox Dale, PA
Sanction: Zimmer's United Late Model Northern Series (Connor Bobik Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 26, 3:27 am)
Norris hangs on for $5,000 at Thunder Mountain
Connor Bobik Memorial
  1. Michael Norris
  2. Chub Frank
  3. Max Blair
  4. Wyatt Scott
  5. Michael Lake
  6. Jon Lee
  7. Jared Miley
  8. Dave Blazavich
  9. Alex Ferree
  10. Chris Hackett
  11. Pancho Lawler
  12. John Wayne Weaver
  13. Deshawn Gingerich
  14. Levi Yetter
  15. Del Rougeux
  16. Doug Eck
presented by
Derek Bobik
Michael Norris and members of the Connor Bobik family.
What won the race: Regaining the lead late in the race from Max Blair after the pair exchanged the top spot a few laps earlier, polesitter Michael Norris of Sarver, Pa., claimed the $5,000 payday in Friday’s Connor Bobik Memorial at Thunder Mountain Speedway. Norris notched his third career Zimmer’s United Late Model Northern Series victory.
Key notes: Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., overtook Norris on a midway restart in the 40-lapper but wasn't able to hold him off late. ... Chub Frank finished ahead of Blair. … A pileup exiting turn two was the most serious caution with several drivers involved and one driver's machine ending up on its right side; the series didn't report any injuries. ... Early contender Jon Lee drew a midrace yellow. ... Doug Eck got into an infield tire for an early caution. ... Bob Dorman was in the middle of another early yellow with a turn-four spin. ... Dylan Yoder also had a turn-four spin in the first half of the feature. ... DeShawn Gingerich had a late spin in turn four followed by John Wayne Weaver spinning in turn one. ... The 11th annual Connor Bobik Memorial honored the memory of racing photographer Derek Bobik's late son. … The Bobik family hosts several fundraisers in conjunction with the event, including drawings for autographed photos, doorpanels and donations from various tracks, businesses, and event sponsors, with proceeds going to the Make-a-Wish foundation.
Winner's sponsors: Norris won in a Todd Cerenzia-owned Rocket Chassis sponsored by Todd’s Auto Body, Millerstown Pic-A-Part, Curbside Cookery Wagon, Sallack Well Service and Daugherty Motorsports.
Points chase: Max Blair (269 points) of Centerville, Pa., leads Wyatt Scott (195), Ryan Scott (183), Deshawn Gingerich (164) and Dave Hess Jr. (162).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Max Blair
Time: 15.480 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Norris
Dash winner: Michael Norris
Heat race winners: Max Blair, Alex Ferree, Michael Norris
Next series race: July 29, McKean County Raceway (East Smethport, PA) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's sponsors.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information