Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 15:55:57

Sponsor 743
May 31
411 Motor Speedway,
Seymour, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals (Scott Sexton Memorial) - $10,052
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated May 31, 11:36 pm)
Sexton Memorial's first repeat winner is Owens
Scott Sexton Memorial
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Randy Weaver
  3. Ashton Winger
  4. Dale McDowell
  5. Mike Marlar
  6. Pierce McCarter
  7. Ricky Weiss
  8. Dustin Linville
  9. Chase King
  10. Hudson O'Neal
  11. Jensen Ford
  12. Cory Hedgecock
  13. Heath Hindman
  14. Michael Chilton
  15. David Payne
  16. Jeff Neubert
  17. Donald McIntosh
  18. Robby Moses
  19. Kyle Bronson
  20. Tyler Erb
  21. Steve Smith
  22. Dustin Nobbe
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Jimmy Owens (20) moves by Randy Weaver (85) to take command.
What won the race: Sliding under polesitter and race-long leader Randy Weaver on the 26th lap, Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., led the rest of Monday's ninth annual Scott Sexton Memorial for a $10,052 payday at 411 Motor Speedway. The 52-lapper ran caution-free with Weaver finishing 2.568 seconds behind at the finish.
Key notes: Jimmy Owens is the event's first repeat winner (he also won it in 2019). ... Runner-up Randy Weaver was looking for his first five-figure payday since 2015 (he's sat out several of the intervening seasons after suffering injuries in a 2016 accident). ... The race honored the late east Tennessee racer who passed away in January 2013. The 10-time Southern All Stars winner was the 1991 and ’95 track champion at Volunteer Speedway. ... The race was co-sanctioned by the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals and the Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series. ... Owens was the only two-time winner on the Spring Nationals circuit.
On the move: Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., started 14th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Owens drives a Ramirez Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monument, Boomtest Well Service, Tim Short Auto Group, Red Line Oil, Georgia Arms, Midwest Sheet Metal and Ohlins Shocks.
Points chase: Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., wrapped up the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals title.
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 73°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Randy Weaver
Time: 15.309 seconds
Polesitter: Randy Weaver
Heat race winners: Randy Weaver, Jimmy Owens, Ashton Winger, Dale McDowell
Consolation race winners: Heath Hindman, Hudson O'Neal
Provisional starters: Dustin Nobbe, David Payne, Steve Smith, Jeff Neubert
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff reports

SEYMOUR, Tenn. — When Jimmy Owens tripped the clock at 15.320 seconds in Monday's time trials at 411 Motor Speedway, he was feeling pretty good about his chances in the ninth annual Scott Sexton Memorial.

But it caught his attention when fellow Tennessee driver Randy Weaver went 15.309 to set fast time at the 3/8-mile oval.

"I laid down a pretty good lap and I thought, 'Man, it's going to be hard to be that.' Then daggone if Randy didn't beat it," Owens said.

But when the big money was on the line in the feature race — the $10,052 prize signifying the No. 52 driven by late driver Scott Sexton — Owens got another crack at outrunning Weaver. The Newport, Tenn., driver made the most of it, going past his Crossville, Tenn., counterpart on the 26th of 52 laps and pulling away in the caution-free main event.

With his victory, he became the first repeat winner in the Sexton Memorial (he also won in 2019) and also became the lone repeat winner on the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals, which wrapped up with fourth-place finisher Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., securing the championship. (The race was co-sanctioned by the Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series.).

Weaver, back to dabbling in Super Late Models after sitting out most of the last five seasons after suffering a concussion in a 2016 accident, finished 2.568 seconds behind Owens at the checkers while Ashton Winger of Hampton, Ga., was third. McDowell was fourth with Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., rounding on the top five on a night when 40 Super Late Models crowded the pits on a beautiful Memorial Day.

Weaver got the jump from his pole position, but the third-starting Owens quickly gave chase and was able to work a little lower on the track as the race headed toward the halfway point. Weaver pulled alongside and then nosed ahead to lead lap 26 and edge away.

The winner's lone scare came with nine laps remaining when Owens found it a little dicey trying to put a lap on Jensen Ford. Dispensing of Ford, Owens cruised the rest of the way.

Heading back to Tennessee after an eighth-place finish at the Show-Me 100 in Wheatland, Mo., Owens was glad to grab the victory, saying his "car's been phenomenal and the crew's worked their tail off."

The handling on Weaver's car wasn't as good at the race's conclusion as it was at the beginning.

"Hat's off to Jimmy and his guys. They're good everywhere, but especially here," Weaver said. "We went a little different on tire combination ... we just held on as long as we could. We don't race all the time like these guys do, but we like coming out and running with 'em every once in a while. It was a super good car.

"We just missed it on our setup a little bit, and the driver's pretty rusty, too. ... It was a good night for us."

Winger, who started outside the front row, held the third spot all race long.

"I knew early there I wasn't going to be able, probably, to (compete) Randy and then when Jimmy got by me on the start, I figured I'd have to ride and take what I could get," He said. "But congrats to Randy and Jimmy. Man, that Jimmy knows how to get around here."

Notes: Owens remarked in victory lane about remembering Scott Sexton, a 10-time winner on the Southern All Star circuit. "I enjoyed watching him race through the years, and you know, all the big guys would come to town to race, and they'd have their work cut out for 'em." ... Owens lapped all but nine competitors. ... Among early retirees were Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regulars Tyler Erb and Kyle Bronson. ... Dale McDowell's Spring Nationals title was in hand when Donald McIntosh struggled back in the pack and retired on lap 38.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Weaver, Winger
Row 2: Owens, McDowell
Row 3: Marlar, Linville
Row 4: P. McCarter, Weiss
Row 5: McIntosh, C. King
Row 6: T. Erb, Ford
Row 7: Hindman, O'Neal
Row 8: Hedgecock, Chilton
Row 9: Bronson, Moses
Row 10: Nobbe, Payne
Row 11: Smith, Neubert

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728