Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 09:04:16

Sponsor 743
August 29
Attica Raceway Park,
Attica, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Detroit Choclat 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 30, 10:24 am)
Bloomquist's debut at Attica? He's the winner
Detroit Choclat 50
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Steve Francis
  3. Earl Pearson Jr.
  4. Jimmy Owens
  5. Mason Zeigler
  6. Don O'Neal
  7. Brian Birkhofer
  8. John Blankenship
  9. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  10. Jared Landers
  11. Dennis Erb Jr.
  12. Jason Hughes
  13. Ryan Markham
  14. Matt Irey
  15. Jason Papich
  16. Chris Keller
  17. Devin Moran
  18. Shane McLoughlin
  19. Mike Bores
  20. Jeff Babcock
  21. Rocky Owens
  22. Ryan Missler
  23. Larry Kingseed
  24. John Bores
  25. Steve Casebolt
presented by
Rick Schwallie/rickschwalliephotos.com
Scott Bloomquist quickly got up to speed in his Attica debut.
What won the race: In his first visit to Attica Raceway Park, polesitter Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., led all 50 laps to collect a $10,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory, his fifth of the 2014 season.
Key notes: Bloomquist is second on Lucas Oil Series all-time win list with 51 career series victories. ... The Lucas Oil Series made its second appearance at Attica. ... On Saturday, Late Models contest the Attica-Wayne County Challenge with $1,500 going to the winner.
On the move: Don O'Neal came from ninth to finish sixth, receiving hard charger honors.
Winner's sponsors: Bloomquist's Sweet-Bloomquist ride is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Allstar Performance, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Hoosier Racing Tire, Lucas Oil Products, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Sweet Manufacturing and Weld Racing Wheels.
Points chase: Three-time and reigning series champ Jimmy Owens added 10 points to his edge over Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., leaving Attica leading the standings by 50 points (6,300-6,250) with nine races remaining on the 2014 schedule. Scott Bloomquist is a distant third, 235 points behind Owens.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Scott Bloomquist
Time: 14.329 seconds
Polesitter: Scott Bloomquist
Heat race winners: Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Francis, Jimmy Owens
Consolation race winners: Jason Papich
Next series race: August 30, Portsmouth Raceway Park (Portsmouth, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Brian Liskai
Attica Raceway Park

ATTICA, Ohio (Aug. 29) — Making his first ever visit to Attica Raceway Park, Scott Bloomquist survived a two-lap dash to the finish for his fifth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season worth $10,000 on Detroit Chocolat Night.

The Mooresburg, Tenn., driver led all 50 laps to collect his 51st career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory while outdueling fellow Hall of Famer Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky. Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., was third followed by series points leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., and Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa.

“It was a little bit of work out there, depending on how you came off the corners with those ... moguls I guess you’d call them," said Bloomquist, who continued his penchant of winning his first visit to a racetrack. "They’d definitely throw you around. You had to pay attention where the wall was at.

"The car was awesome. I could run anywhere on the racetrack. But with two (laps) to go I felt something, like something jarred on the car. Like a lot of races this year, I was wondering if I’d lose this on the last lap.”

Bloomquist wanted to make sure he didn’t end up second during a season when runner-up finishes have been plentiful.

“We are a little short of help this weekend, but everybody did a great job," Bloomquist said. "I had to groove the tires and do some other things, but overall the car handled so well all night long. We have been so close to winning other races this year. I was determined to win this tonight.”

Both Francis and Pearson took a shot at Bloomquist in the final two circuits, but they came up short of going to victory lane.

“I caught a rock about halfway through and tore the faceshield off, so we just were trying to see where we were going,” Francis said. “We are really running well here lately. It’s great to be back in the mix for a win. Scott could run straighter up off the corner than we could. I slipped back to fifth at one point, and the car was so much better up top. We just didn’t have anything for Scott on that final restart. The way it turned out, we were fortunate to hold off Earl for second.”

Pearson was glad to be in the mix, too.

“With the way our season has gone this year, I didn’t know what was going to happen on that final restart,” the four-time series champion said. “The car was good all race long, it would run better down low on the track. I thought I was going to get by Steve there a couple of times, but we will take this finish. I think we run third here last year. Hopefully when we come back we can move up a spot or two.”

In the 50-lap feature, Bloomquist and Francis brought the field to green with Bloomquist gaining the advantage over Pearson, Francis, Owens and Zeigler, winner of July’s UMP DIRTcar Summernationals event.

Just as the frontrunners entered heavy lapped traffic, a caution flew on lap 12 when Ryan Markham stopped with a flat tire. Prior to the yellow flag, Bloomquist made a daring move, splitting two lapped cars in turn three.

When the green flew again, Bloomquist pulled away from Francis, Pearson, Zeigler, Brian Birkhofer, Jared Landers, and Owens. Landers spun on lap 15 to slow the race pace. When the green flew, so did Bloomquist, pulling away with the battle for second heating up between Francis, Pearson and Zeigler.

As Bloomquist drove away, Pearson took second on lap 15, bringing Zeigler to third. Zeigler grabbed second on lap 17 and he Pearson and Francis continues to battle hard over the next hand full of laps. The caution would fly for a Rocky Owens spin on lap 17.

When the race went green again, Bloomquist drove away from the tremendous battle for second with Zeigler, Francis and Pearson taking turns in the spot. Pearson took the runner-up son on lap 20, but Zeigler continue to hound him.

The leaders found lapped traffic on lap 29 and Bloomquist had a nearly three-second lead over Francis, Zeigler, Pearson, Owens, Don O’Neal and Birkhofer. Nothing changed up front until Pearson moved into third on lap 41.

Bloomquist was on cruise control, extending his lead to nearly four seconds when the caution flew with two laps to go as Jason Papich spun in turn four. That tightened the pack, but Bloomquist held on for the victory.

Lucas Oil points

(Through Aug. 29)
1. Jimmy Owens - 6,300
2. Don O'Neal - 6,250
3. Scott Bloomquist - 6,065
4. Steve Francis - 5,600
5. Earl Pearson Jr. - 5,445
(tie) Eddie Carrier - 5,445
7. John Blankenship - 5,185
8. Jared Landers - 5,095
9. Dennis Erb Jr. - 4,785
10. Jason Hughes - 4,350
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728