Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 21:34:08

Sponsor 743
July 26
Hagerstown Speedway,
Hagerstown, MD
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Speedy Hayes Memorial) - $4,400
Information provided by: Track and other reports (last updated July 27, 8:08 pm)
Hardy captures Hagerstown's Hayes Memorial
Speedy Hayes Memorial
  1. Kyle Hardy
  2. C.S. Fitzgerald
  3. Brian Tavenner
  4. Andy Anderson
  5. Jamie Lathroum
  6. Steve Axtell Jr.
  7. Marvin Winters
  8. Keith Jackson
  9. Roy Deese Jr.
  10. Allen Brannon
  11. Jason Covert
  12. Frankie Plessinger
  13. Bruce Kane
  14. Andy Haus
  15. Lindsay Barton
  16. Kenny Moreland
  17. Trever Feathers
  18. Jason Miller
  19. Jason Dupont
  20. Randy Burkholder
presented by
Jason Walls/wrtspeedwerx.com
Winner Kyle Hardy (99) works on leader C.S. Fitzgerald.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Kyle Hardy became the third different leader in the 33rd annual Speedy Hayes Memorial 44-lapper for his first ever Hagerstown victory, earning $4,400. The Stephens City, Va., driver made up a nearly two-second deficit after passing earlier race leader Andy Anderson to move into second, and Hardy later overtook seventh-starting C.S. Fitzgerald to lead the final six laps for a 3.518 second advantage at the checkers over Fitzgerald with Brian Tavenner, Anderson and Jamie Lathroum rounding out the top five.
Quotable: “There was a little bit of moisture on the backstretch and I hit it just right that one time and it just launched it,” Hardy said. “The car was awesome, it couldn’t have got any better.”
Key notes: Hardy's victory came just seven weeks after his first-ever Super Late Model victory at Winchester (Va.) Speedway. ... Hurry-up mode beat rain that began just after victory lane interviews. ... Anderson led 13 laps before Fitzgerald took control and opened up a comfortable lead. ... Hardy began to reel in Fitzgerald past the halfway point and made the winning move on the 39th lap. ... A Trever Feathers-Jason Covert tangle in heat action resulted in extracurricular activity in the pits. ... Kyle Lear won the Limited Late Model feature from the 11th starting spot.
On the move: Marvin Winters came from 17th to finish seventh in the 20-car field.
Winner's sponsors: Hardy's MasterSbilt by Huey is sponsored by Culligan Water Treatment, Auto Glass Experts and Anthony's Pizza.
Points chase: Entering the event, Roy Deese Jr. had 361 points to lead the track's weekly division over Marvin Winters (339) and Trever Feathers (326).
Car count: 20
Heat race winners: Brian Tavenner, Kyle Hardy
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728