Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 13:47:19

Sponsor 743
July 24
Independence Motor Speedway,
Independence, IA
Sanction: World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 25, 9:36 am)
Lanigan tops Heckenast, grabs 10th WoO victory
  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  3. Rick Eckert
  4. Tim McCreadie
  5. Billy Moyer
  6. Jimmy Mars
  7. Tim Fuller
  8. Shane Clanton
  9. Eric Wells
  10. Morgan Bagley
  11. Brian Birkhofer
  12. Chase Junghans
  13. Wendell Wallace
  14. Clint Smith
  15. Boom Briggs
  16. Tyler Bruening
  17. Dustin Virkus
  18. Jason Rauen
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Chad Simpson
  21. Chub Frank
  22. Curt Martin
  23. Chris Simpson
  24. Mike Fryer
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Darrell Lanigan grabs his 10th World of Outlaws victory of 2014.
What won the race: Red-hot Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., outgunned polesitter Frank Heckenast Jr., of Frankfort, Ill., at the drop of the green flag and led every lap for a $10,000 World of Outlaws Late Model Series victory, his 10th on the 2014 campaign.
On the move: Sixth-finishing Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., improved from the 12th starting position.
Winner's sponsors: Lanigan's Club 29 Race Car has a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsorship from Baird Trucking, Gotta Race, Hoosier Racing Tire, Keyser Manufacturing, Performance Rod & Custom and Xtreme Graphics.
Points chase: Darrell Lanigan (3,170 points) extended his lead over Rick Eckert (-212) and Tim McCreadie (-228).
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Jason Rauen
Time: 14.00 seconds
Polesitter: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Heat race winners: Frank Heckenast Jr., Billy Moyer, Darrell Lanigan
Next series race: July 25, Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $25,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Joshua Joiner
World of Outlaws Late Model Series

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (July 24) — Darrell Lanigan is fast at most all of the tracks on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series schedule, but he may be best at Independence Motor Speedway.

Lanigan, the two-time WoO champion and current points leader, claimed Independence’s tour event for the third straight year Thursday night, topping Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, Ill., at the 3/8-mile oval to earn $10,650 for his 10th WoO victory of the season.

The second-starting Lanigan, 44, of Union, Ky., led every lap of the 50-lap race to extend his lead atop the national tour’s all-time wins list with his 63rd career victory. Lanigan’s Club 29 Race Car crossed the finish line 3.2 seconds ahead of Heckenast, who also drove a Club 29 car in an event slowed by a single caution on lap 18.

Rick Eckert of York, Pa., advanced from sixth to finish third in the Rocket Chassis house car. Third-starting Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., used a high-side charge to move his Rocket Chassis to second early in the race before fading back to fourth at the finish. Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., finished fifth in his Longhorn Chassis.

Starting from the outside of the front row, Lanigan pulled ahead of Heckenast on the start of the 50-lap race and used the middle groove of the racetrack to quickly build a comfortable lead on the low-running Heckenast.

The high-running McCreadie briefly closed in on Lanigan when he took second around lap 10, but he faded following the lap-18 restart.

The resurgent Heckenast pressured Lanigan as the leaders raced through traffic around race’s halfway point, but Lanigan’s superior experience showed as he knifed his way through traffic and pulled away in the second half of the race.

“He’s got a good car and he’s definitely coming on here at the end of the year,” Lanigan said of Heckenast. “I never did see his nose there, but I had a guy on the backstretch giving my signals. He gave me a big signal there at the end, so I just kinda bided my time with those lapped car.”

Heckenast, who switched to a Club 29 car in late June, fell short of claiming his first career WoO victory, but the 26-year-old driver strengthened his command of the WoO Rookie of the Year chase with his solid performance.

“Everything went our way and we had a pretty good night,” said Heckenast, who recorded his first series top-five finish of the season. “Darrell, he’s got a lot of experience racing in traffic and being out front. I don’t have the confidence just yet to move around on the racetrack.

“He was so much better through traffic, so he’d get out on me. But after the restart ... my car was really good. I hung with him there for a while and didn’t wanna show him everything. But he’s so good, he normally gets faster from lap 40 to 50.”

The third-place finish leaves Eckert still looking for first WoO victory of the season, but the 2011 series champion was pleased with his team’s progress.

“It’s not from lack of effort because we’ve been working hard to get there,” Eckert said of the frustration of his current winless streak. “We couldn’t race by them tonight, but we were pretty close. We’ll take that.

“The guys have been working real hard and giving me a good car. Tonight was about as good as we’ve got. We had a really decent car, so I think we can work from that.”

The WoO moves to Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway on Friday to kick off the Prairie Dirt Classic weekend at the popular quarter-mile oval. Friday night’s preliminary action will set the lineup for Saturday’s $25,000-to-win main event.

World of Outlaws points

(Through July 24)
1. Darrell Lanigan - 3,170
2. Rick Eckert - 2,958 (-212)
3. Tim McCreadie - 2,942 (-228)
4. Morgan Bagley - 2,872 (-298)
5. Chub Frank - 2,844 (-326)
6. Eric Wells - 2,786 (-384)
7. Shane Clanton - 2,782 (-388)
8. Frank Heckenast - 2,726 (-444)
9. Clint Smith - 2,782 (-496)
10. Chase Junghans - 2,576 (-594)
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728