Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 13:17:42

Sponsor 743
July 5
201 Speedway,
Sitka, KY
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Hatfield & McCoy Feuding 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 6, 12:39 pm)
Owens tops three-wide battle for victory at 201
Hatfield & McCoy Feuding 50
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Don O'Neal
  3. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  4. John Blankenship
  5. Jackie Boggs
  6. Tim Dohm
  7. Earl Pearson Jr.
  8. Steve Francis
  9. Mike Marlar
  10. Zack Dohm
  11. Jared Landers
  12. Scott Bloomquist
  13. Rod Conley
  14. Stephen Breeding
  15. Jason Papich
  16. Shannon Thornsberry
  17. Rick Eckert
  18. Jason Hughes
  19. Dennis Erb Jr.
  20. Brandon Kinzer
  21. Craig Vosbergen
  22. Tommy Bailey
  23. Kenneth Howell
  24. Josh Hall
presented by
Rick Schwallie/rickschwalliephotos.com
Jimmy Owens rallied from the ninth row to win his 201 debut.
What won the race: Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., charged from the 17th starting position, outdueling Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., and Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., for his series-leading fifth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season.
Quotable: “I feel bad for all my family and friends that were here tonight,” said Carrier. “I badly wanted to win tonight, but we came up short. We now know we had a car capable of running up front.”
Key notes: The Lucas Oil Series wrapped up a four-race weekend with its first-ever appearance at 201. ... Owens recorded a pair of wins and a pair of runner-up finishes in the four events. ... The Sitka oval became the sixth Kentucky track to host the series, joining Florence Speedway in Union, Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, Barren County Speeway in Glasgow, Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway in Calvert City, and Paducah International Raceway.
On the move: Owens came from 17th to win, while John Blankenship of Williamson, W.Va., climbed from the ninth starting position to finish fourth. Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., rallied from the 19th starting spot to finish 10th.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Mike Reece-owned Club 29 Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Edge Services, FK Rod Ends, Midwest Sheet Metal, Red Line Oil, Reece Monument Co. and Sunoco Race Fuels.
Points chase: Owens climbed within 10 points of O'Neal with the victory.
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Tim Dohm
Time: 13.780 seconds
Polesitter: Tim Dohm
Heat race winners: Tim Dohm, Don O'Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Mike Marlar
Consolation race winners: Jimmy Owens, Shannon Thornsberry
Next series race: July 11, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By James Essex
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

SITKA, Ky. (July 5) — Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., made his first visit to 201 Speedway a memorable one.

Starting 17th in the first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series visit to the eastern Kentucky oval, Owens came out on top of a three-wide battle for the lead in the final laps for a $10,000 victory, the 49th of his career on the national circuit.

It took Owens a while to get rolling at the 3/8-mile oval, but once he did he roared to the front to top series points leader Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., and Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., who started outside the front row and led 45 of 50 laps.

"I messed up qualifying," said Owens, who closed to within 10 points of O'Neal in the race for the 2014 title. "We came out in the B-main and felt a whole lot better. Starting where we did, we gambled on tires. The track came to us. We started picking off cars every lap and I thought I was going to have to settle for third behind Eddie and O'Neal. Then after that last caution, we went into turn one and were three wide and I was fortunate to come out ahead.”

John Blankenship of Williamson, W.Va., was fourth while Jackie Boggs of Grayson Ky., rounded out the top five. Polesitter and fast qualifier Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., contended much of the way but settled for sixth at the conclusion of the Hatfield & McCoy Feuding 50.

While Carrier led virtually all race long, he had his hands full with O’Neal in the late stages while Owens crept into the top five past the halfway point. With Carrier and O’Neal in a tight battle up front, Owens slipped by Boggs to grab third just before the last of four cautions appeared on lap 44 for Kenneth Howell’s slowing car.

With the field rebunched for the restart, a wild battle ensued among Carrier, O’Neal and Owens.

On the restart, O’Neal dove under Carrier in turn one to grab the lead into turn one, while Carrier answered by sliding back ahead exiting turn four. Owens was right in the mix, by how, and the frontrunners entered turn one three abreast on lap 46 — Owens underneath O’Neal who was underneath Carrier.

O’Neal squeezed out of the middle to edge ahead, but Owens slid under O’Neal exiting turn four for a lead he’d never give up.

"I didn't want to see that last caution flag for sure," said O'Neal. "I was diamonding off the corners and catching (Carrier). When that caution came out, it hurt the momentum we had built up.”

Carrier appeared to have the car to beat, but ended up settling for third.

“I feel bad for all my family and friends that were here tonight,” the native Kentuckian said. “I badly wanted to win tonight, but we came up short. We now know we had a car capable of running up front.”

Lucas Oil points

(Through July 5)
1. Don O'Neal - 4,375
2. Jimmy Owens - 4,365
3. Scott Bloomquist - 3,975
4. Earl Pearson Jr. - 3,940
5. Eddie Carrier Jr. - 3,875
6. Steve Francis - 3,845
7. John Blankenship - 3,545
8. Jared Landers - 3,435
9. Dennis Erb Jr. - 3,225
10. Jason Hughes - 3,045
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728