Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 20:35:38

Sponsor 743
July 3
Muskingum County Speedway,
Zanesville, OH
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (Creno's 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 4, 7:27 am)
Owens earns $10,000 Muskingum Co. victory
Creno's 50
  1. Jimmy Owens
  2. Rick Eckert
  3. Don O'Neal
  4. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  5. Earl Pearson Jr.
  6. Davey Johnson
  7. Devin Moran
  8. Tim Dohm
  9. Mike Benedum
  10. Jared Landers
  11. Dennis Erb Jr.
  12. John Blankenship
  13. Shane McLoughlin
  14. Michael Davis
  15. Jason Papich
  16. Doug Drown
  17. Ryan Markham
  18. Todd Brennan
  19. Matt Irey
  20. Steve Francis
  21. Jason Hughes
  22. Jared Hawkins
  23. Scott Bloomquist
  24. Rocky Owens
  25. Steve Prince
  26. Ronnie Mayle
presented by
Rick Schwallie/rickschwalliephotos.com
Jimmy Owens tunes up before his Creno's 50 victory at Muskingum.
What won the race: Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., grabbed lead from Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., for good on the 18th circuit and led the rest of the 50-lapper for his fourth Lucas Oil victory of 2014.
On the move: Michael Davis earned Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race for his 26th-to-14th run.
Winner's sponsors: The Mike Reece-owned Club 29 Race Car is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Edge Services, FK Rod Ends, Midwest Sheet Metal, Red Line Oil, Reece Monument Co. and Sunoco Race Fuels.
Points chase: With the victory, Owens closed to within 75 points of leader Don O'Neal atop the series standings.
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Don O'Neal
Time: 15.593 seconds
Polesitter: Don O'Neal
Heat race winners: Don O'Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jimmy Owens, Rick Eckert
Consolation race winners: Scott Bloomquist, Jared Hawkins
Provisional starters: Steve Prince, Ronnie Mayle, Todd Brennan, Michael Davis
Next series race: July 5, 201 Speedway (Sitka, KY) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By James Essex
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

ZANESVILLE, Ohio (July 3) — The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series had its 10th winner in as many visits to Muskingum County Speedway, but it was a familiar face.

Three-time and reigning series champion Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., took the lead from series points leader Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., on the 18th lap and sped away in the Creno’s 50. Owens earned $10,000 for his fourth series victory of the season.

"It feels great to be back in victory lane. We have had some tough luck lately. We had a good finish last night (a runner-up finish at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex), but before that, we didn't have the finishes we wanted for a few weeks. The crew did a great job getting the car ready tonight. I could run anywhere on the track tonight, high, low, in the middle, it didn't matter.”

Rick Eckert of York, Pa., had his best Lucas Oil Series finish of the season in second while O’Neal settled for third place at the 4/10-mile oval. Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., finished fourth in the Thursday night special while Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., followed his Roaring Knob victory with a fifth-place finish.

Owens withstood a pair of restarts, including one with nine laps remaining, to maintain control after wresting the lead from O’Neal in front of a standing-room only crowd.

"When they went out and watered the track before the fireworks, I think it helped the track a lot,” Owens said. “We have been coming here long enough to know what they are going to do to the track. It smoothed out enough from the heat races, so hopefully we put on a good show for these fans.

“Don and I had a pretty good battle for the lead; we got close a couple of times, but once we were out in front, the car handled so well.”

O'Neal led the first 17 circuits of the race after starting from the pole, but he had his hands full with Owens many of those laps. Eckert moved past O'Neal on lap 23, but could never get close enough to seriously challenge Owens.

"He had the best car tonight," Eckert said of Owens. “We worked on our car all day after last night's run. Right from the start tonight the car was so much better. I felt real comfortable with it tonight. It's great to be back here in front of this big crowd.

“That last restart the only chance I had was that he (Owens) would make a mistake, but he's too good to do that. We are happy to run second and we will be at Portsmouth tomorrow night hoping to gain one more spot.”

O’Neal maintained his lead in the point standings, but Owens gained ground on him in what’s become a two-driver chase.

“We got off to a good start in the feature. I was setting a pretty good pace out there,” O’Neal said. “But then here comes Jimmy, and once he got past me it was pretty much over. Then Eckert got a run on me and I couldn't hold him off.”

Neither of the race’s two cautions were serious. The first was caused by Jason Hughes on the 23rd lap, then again on the 41st lap when Steve Francis and Doug Drown simultaneously slipped over the banking in turns three and four.

Notes: With his 48th career victory, Owens ties Scott Bloomquist atop the all-time series list. … Bloomquist had problems with his primary car in hot laps, and he went to a backup car, which had problems in time trials. He finally got the backup car rolling, transferred to the feature through a consolation race, but finished 23rd in the main event. … Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Craig Vosbergen, Aaron Scott, Larry Bellman, Todd Brennan, Jimmy Smith, Doug Kenworthy and Bryan Casey.

Lucas Oil points

(Through July 3)
1. Don O'Neal - 3,960
2. Jimmy Owens - 3,885
3. Scott Blomquist - 3,545
4. Earl Pearson Jr. - 3,540
5. Eddie Carrier Jr. - 3,465
6. Steve Francis - 3,440
7. John Blankenship - 3,135
8. Jared Landers - 3,120
9. Dennis Erb Jr. - 2,945
10. Jason Hughes - 2,770
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728