Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 03:09:27

Sponsor 743
June 14
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: XR Southern All Star Series (Scott Sexton Memorial) - $5,200
Information provided by: Richard Allen and series reports (last updated June 15, 12:26 pm)
Neat rules Gap for first Southern All Star victory
Scott Sexton Memorial
  1. Brad Neat
  2. Randle Chupp
  3. Todd Morrow
  4. Aaron Ridley
  5. Riley Hickman
  6. Josh Putnam
  7. Jeff Maupin
  8. Bryan Hendrix
  9. Bobby Mays
  10. Chris Wilson
  11. Vic Hill
  12. Jason Welshan
  13. Tim Tungate
  14. Dylan Ames
  15. Tommy Kerr
  16. Ellery Leake
  17. Skylar Marlar
  18. Michael Chilton
  19. Mark Douglas
  20. Stacy Boles
  21. Billy Ogle Jr.
presented by
Randall Perry/rpmphotos.net
Brad Neat races to a victory in the Scott Sexton Memorial.
What won the race: Polesitter Brad Neat of Dunville, Ky., scored a flag-to-flag victory in the 52-lap Scott Sexton Memorial to record his first-ever Southern All Star Series victory. Neat was never seriously challenged en route to the $5,200 payday.
On the move: Jeff Maupin advanced from the 21st starting spot to finish seventh at the high-banked oval.
Winner's sponsors: Neat piloted a Justin Rattliff-owned No. 16 Bloomquist Race Car, which carries sponsorship from Base Fuel, Bert Transmission, Hoosier Tire South, JRR Motor Sales, MGL Auto Sales, Ohlins Shocks, On Time Construction, On Time Courier and Peterson Fluid Systems.
Points chase: Fifth-place finisher Riley Hickman remained atop the points standings by a healthy 80-point margin (640-560) over Josh Putnam, whose sixth-place finish moved him from third to second in the standings. Todd Morrow used a third-place finish to vault from fifth to third in the SAS battle, 90 points behind Hickman.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Brad Neat
Time: 12.425 seconds
Polesitter: Brad Neat
Consolation race winners: Mark Douglas, Todd Morrow
Next series race: June 21, Talladega Short Track (Eastaboga, AL) $4,200
From track reports

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (June 14) — Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., turned in a dominating performance Saturday night at Volunteer Speedway, leading from flag-to-flag to win the second annual Scott Sexton Memorial sanctioned by the Southern All-Star Racing Series.

Making his seventh start of the season in a Bloomquist Race Car from fellow Kentuckian Justin Rattliff’s stable, Neat, 34, set fast time in qualifying and rolled off the pole position in the 52-lap feature to pocket $5,200.

The race honored one of East Tennessee’s all-time best behind the wheel of a Dirt Late Model. The 46-year-old Sexton, of Pigeon Forge, Tenn., passed away on Jan. 10, 2013, after a seven-year health battle.

Known as ‘Superman’ for his racing exploits, Sexton captured Volunteer Speedway championships in 1991 and ’95. In the decade from 1995-2005, Sexton earned 10 Southern All-Star Racing Series victories at Atomic Speedway and Volunteer and still holds the tour’s record for most career $10,000 triumphs.

Neat’s biggest scare on the initial start when he and fellow front-row starter Jason Welshan got out of shape while battling for the lead in turn two, which in turn jammed the field up behind them and caused a major multi-car wreck on the backstretch. Strong contenders Stacy Boles and Billy Ogle Jr. were eliminated from action with severe damage, while Aaron Ridley, Riley Hickman, Mark Douglas, Josh Putnam, Tommy Kerr and others continued with bent sheet metal.

The next try at green proved to be successful, with Neat powering into the lead over Welshan, Vic Hill, Randle Chupp and Todd Morrow. Hill, a five-time Volunteer Speedway Super Late Model champion, got around Welshan for second on lap four racing off the fourth turn.

Neat was setting a blistering pace out front, pulling out to almost a full straightaway advantage over Hill by the halfway point. A caution flag waved on lap 39 when Welshan’s car went up in smoke at end of the front straightaway, but Neat pulled away again on the restart as Hill struggled with a fuel-pickup issue that would end his race moments later.

Chupp inherited second with Hill’s departure and finished there. Morrow, Ridley and Hickman completed the top five.

Notes: The triumph was Neat’s first of 2014 and his first-ever on the Southern All-Star Racing Series. … The 52-lap distance and the $5,200 winner's purse were nods to Sexton’s familiar No. 52 Late Model. … Skylar Marlar and Bobby Mays spun together to draw a lap-one yellow. ... A debris caution paused the action on the seventh circuit. ... SAS points leader Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., pulled double duty, finishing fifth in the Super Late Model feature and winning the Limited Late Model feature for a $2,000 payday. ... Steve Jones of Maryville, Tenn., won the Crate Late Model feature. It had been four years since the 50-year-old last driven a race car at Volunteer.

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information