Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 12:29:49

Sponsor 743
April 27
Delaware International Speedway,
Delmar, DE
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Battle of the Bay) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated April 28, 2:08 pm)
Elliott rules DIS in Battle of the Bay opener
Battle of the Bay
  1. Ricky Elliott
  2. Ross Robinson
  3. Dale Hollidge
  4. Amanda Robinson
  5. Mark Pettyjohn
  6. Nick Davis
  7. Austin Hubbard
  8. Glenn Elliott
  9. Dylan Evans
  10. Dan Stone
  11. Kerry King Jr.
  12. Darryl Hills
  13. Kevin Scott Jr.
  14. Tyler Horst
  15. Herb Tunis
  16. Zac Weller
  17. Bob Geiger
  18. Donald Lingo Jr.
  19. Kellie Lewis
presented by
Larry Burnett
Ricky Elliot earned $3,000 for his Battle of the Bay win at Delaware.
What won the race: Former track champion Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del., earned $3,000 Thursday night at Delaware International Speedway in the first of nine Battle of the Bay miniseries races of 2017. Elliott started on the pole and led flag-to-flag, withstanding a restart with four laps remaining to win the 35-lap race.
Quotable: “I knew I needed to hold the bottom (on the restart),” said Elliott. “I actually thought there was going to be (someone on) top because I passed a couple of cars on the outside. I said to myself I’m sure there is somebody up there trying it, but they were running through the water and pushing it up on the track down there so I just didn’t want to take a chance getting out of the groove.”
Key notes: The top three finishers from each of two heat races drew for their feature starting spots. ... The only caution waved with four laps remaining when Donald Lingo Jr. slowed at the top of turn two. ... DIS kicked off the season's first three-race Battle of the Bay weekend, a miniseries that moves on to Potomac Speedway in Budds Creek, Md., and Winchester (Va.) Speedway on Friday and Saturday. The three tracks will join for two more rounds of the miniseries, on July 27-29 and Aug. 10-12. ... Racers competed on a reshaped and resurfaced half-mile oval; the turns had banking added and were widened by 10 feet with the removal of inside marker tires. ... Jason Dean failed to start the main event. ... Joe Warren won the RUSH-sanctioned Crate feature. ... Austin Hubbard pulled double-duty, finishing seventh in the Super Late Model feature and fourth in the RUSH race (driving a Steve Nuttal-owned Crate car).
On the move: Mark Pettyjohn of Milton, Del., finished fourth after starting 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Elliott's Advanced Motorsports Lazer Chassis is sponsored by J&N Roofing and Builders, PennGrade High Performance Oil, Art Collins, Trucking, Advance Motorsports Speed & Custom, The UPS Store and Advanced Lubrication Specialties.
Points chase: Elliot takes the points lead after the first of nine scheduled Battle of the Bay events.
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Amanda Robinson
Time: 18.610 seconds
Polesitter: Ricky Elliott
Heat race winners: Amanda Robinson, Ricky Elliott
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information