Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 20:10:28

Sponsor 743
April 15
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 17, 1:13 pm)
Hoffman nabs first Late Model win at Eldora
  1. Nick Hoffman
  2. Kent Robinson
  3. Jacob Hawkins
  4. Jon Henry
  5. Jeff Babcock
  6. Rusty Schlenk
  7. Casey Noonan
  8. Nick Latham
  9. Jared Bailey
  10. Dustin Nobbe
  11. Bryant Dickinson
  12. Kody Evans
  13. Andrew Reaume
  14. Jerry Bowersock
  15. Jeep Van Wormer
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Nick Hoffman notched his first career Late Model victory at Eldora.
What won the race: Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, N.C., reached a career milestone Saturday night, earning his first-ever Super Late Model victory in the 25-lap Sunoco American Late Model Series feature that kicked off the 2017 season at Eldora Speedway. He inherited the lead when polesitter Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., was penalized for jumping a lap-two restart and then ran the high side to beat Robinson to the finish line by nearly five car lengths.
Quotable: "This isn’t just my first win here in a Late Model, this is my first win ever in a Late Model,” Hoffman said. "I guess there is no better place to win one then here. This is really amazing."
Key notes: Hoffman, an ace open-wheel modified driver and chassis builder, began dabbling in Dirt Late Model competition last August. He qualified for last year's World 100 at Eldora in his first attempt, finishing 20th. ... Hoffman has four career open-wheel modified feature wins at Eldora. ... Robinson was disappointed after his jumping penalty. "I didn't know the leader could jump a start," he said. "But I am not sure it would have made any difference.”... Jeff Babcock rallied after spinning on the first lap to finish fifth. ... Fourth-place finisher Jacob Hawkins won the UMP modified feature later in the program. ... The feature was slowed by caution flags on laps one and 12.
On the move: Jacob Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., advanced from the 11th starting spot to finish fourth. He was driving the Bill Dues-owned St. Henry Nite Club machine normally piloted by Duane Chamberlain of Richmond, Ind., who remains sidelined to recover from problems relating to instability in his upper cervical vertabra.
Winner's sponsors: Hoffman’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Propane Direct, Jones Oil Company, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products and KBC Graphix.
Car count: 16
Polesitter: Casey Noonan
Heat race winners: Casey Noonan, Kent Robinson
Next series race: May 12, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Noonan, Robinson
Row 2: Henry, Hoffman
Row 3: Nobbe, Babcock
Row 4: Reaume, Evans
Row 5: Latham, Van Wormer
Row 6: Hawkins, Bailey
Row 7: Schlenk, Dickinson
Row 8: Bowersock

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information