Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/13/2024 23:42:53

Sponsor 743
April 8
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Fast Unified Engine Late Model Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Gene Murphy and series reports (last updated April 10, 10:22 am)
Ivey captures first career FUEL series victory
  1. Trent Ivey
  2. Furman Parton
  3. Matt Long
  4. Steve Banal
  5. Bryan Mullis
  6. Dan Breuer
  7. Timbo Mangum
  8. Ricky Weeks
  9. Brian Ledbetter
  10. Greg Clark
  11. Brandon O'Neil
  12. Russell Kennerly
  13. Dino Long
  14. Jonathan Warlick
  15. Doug Sanders
  16. Jonathan Edwards
  17. Pat Lindsay
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Trent Ivey (88) hustles in front of Furman Parton (6P) at the outset.
What won the race: Polesitter Trent Ivey of Union, S.C., led all 40 laps while outrunning second-starting Furman Parton of Union Mills, N.C., to earn the $3,000 Fast Unified Engine Late Model Series victory at Cherokee Speedway. Ivey took the checkered flag 1.584 seconds ahead of Parton.
Quotable: "Last Sunday night this car was a bare chassis with just the interior decking in it", said Ivey. "My dad (Petey Ivey), Skee (Nichols), Rick (Alman), and myself worked our tails off getting it ready. We put the same setup under it that we have under the other car, so we knew pretty much what we would be starting with. All we did tonight was change the right front shock before the feature."
Key notes: The victory marked the first of Ivey's career with FUEL.. ... It was Ivey's third consecutive win at Cherokee. ... Pat Lindsay didn't start the feature. ... Eight of the 17 starters finished on the lead lap. ... The race was slowed by five cautions. ... The series opened its season at Cherokee for the fourth consecutive year. … Series officials hope to add two more events to FUEL’s 11-race schedule, which currently takes drivers to eight tracks in four states.
Winner's sponsors: Ivey's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Ivey Construction, Octane Race Products, Integra Shocks, Dirtwrap and Barfield’s Bulldozing.
Points chase: Jonathan Edwards of Charlotte, N.C., captured the 2016 series championship.
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Trent Ivey
Time: 15.808 seconds
Polesitter: Trent Ivey
Dash winner: Trent Ivey
Heat race winners: Doug Sanders, Bryan Mullis
Next series race: April 22, Fayetteville Motor Speedway (Fayetteville, NC) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information