Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 07:49:56

Sponsor 743
May 17
USA Raceway,
Tucson, AZ
Sanction: Championship Dirt Motorsports - $1,200
Information provided by: Track and team reports (last updated May 18, 7:18 pm)
Parker grabs $1,200 victory at Tucson
  1. Lonnie Parker Jr.
  2. Brad Williams
  3. Craig Parker
  4. John Cornell
  5. Jason Noll
  6. Sean Bray
  7. Bucky Andrews
  8. James Laing
  9. Dean Moore
  10. Greg Jelvik
  11. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  12. Marshall Miles
  13. Wes Hall
presented by
Shana Bray/photosbyshana.net
Lonnie Parker Jr. heads to victory at Tucson International Raceway.
What won the race: Regaining the lead when Ricky Thornton Jr., dropped out, Lonnie Parker of El Mirage, Ariz., notched his first victory at Tucson since 2012 and first ever sanctioned by Championship Dirt Motorsports, taking the checkers ahead of hometown driver Brad Williams. Thornton, of Chandler, Ariz., replacing R.C. Whitwell in Jeff Manka's No. 5, started fourth and led 10 laps before a collision with a lapped car put a hole in his radiator and forced him out.
Key notes: Parker, the Southwest Dirt Racing Association's all-time winningest driver with 65 victories, last won at Tucson on May 26, 2012, in SWDRA action. ... R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, the winner of the previous two CDM events at Tucson, gave up the seat in Jeff Manka's No. 5 to work with Earl Pearson Jr.'s Bobby Labonte Racing team. ... Ricky Thornton Jr. took Whitwell's ride. ... Jason Knoll drove Joey Moriarty's No. 51, finishing fifth. ... Colorado driver Dean Moore won a heat race while debuting a new Victory Circle Chassis, but mechanical problems forced him to retire early from the main event.
Winner's sponsors: Parker's No. 8P is sponsored by Parker Concrete, ATEC Engineering and J&J.
Points chase: Parker moved into the CDM points lead with his victory.
Car count: 13
Next series race: June 6, El Paso Speedway Park (El Paso, TX) $1,200
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728