Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 12:29:34

Sponsor 743
September 15
Brownstown Bullring,
Brownstown, IL
Sanction: MARS Late Model Championship (Brownstown 100) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 16, 2:48 pm)
English outduels Erb for $10,000 at Brownstown
Brownstown 100
  1. Tanner English
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Ryan Unzicker
  4. Dennis Erb Jr.
  5. Shannon Babb
  6. Tim Manville
  7. Mike Harrison
  8. Tyler Stevens
  9. Logan Martin
  10. Jeff Herzog
  11. Blaze Burwell
  12. Jordan Wever
  13. Mark Voigt
  14. Bob Gardner
  15. Kye Blight
  16. Michael Kloos
  17. Daryn Klein
  18. Mark Oller
  19. Drake Troutman
  20. Justin White
  21. Tony Jackson Jr.
  22. Rusty Griffaw
  23. Jordan Bauer
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Tanner English celebrates Friday's MARS win at the Brownstown Bullring.
What won the race: Powering around the outside of Dennis Erb Jr. and regaining the lead for good on lap 39, second-starting Tanner English of Benton, Ky., led the final 13 laps to win Friday's $10,000 inaugural Brownstown 100 at the Brownstown Bullring. English earned his first MARS Late Model Championship Series victory of the season and the 16th of his career.
Quotable: “We really wanted that trophy, that thing is badass,” English said. “I can’t thank Brownstown Bullring enough for everything that they’re doing, you know they’re working real hard and trying to make a show of it and it’s pretty cool to see. That’s pretty awesome, (it was) an awesome race; I’m glad my wife and my whole family was here.”
Key notes: English led three separate times for 38 laps (2-14, 24-35 and 39-51) to secure his first full-field victory since March 25 at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway. ... Seventh-starting Dennis Erb Jr. battled English for the majority of the race, leading twice for 12 laps (15-23, 36-38) before fading to finish fourth. ... Series points leader and fifth-starting Jason Feger marched to claim the runner-up spot on lap 41 and trailed English the rest of the way, finishing 0.448 of a second back. ... Sixth-starting Ryan Unzicker took third on lap 43 and completed the podium. ... Shannon Babb led the first lap from the pole before slipping to finish fifth; in total, there were five lead changes among three different leaders. ... Tim Manville improved three positions and finished sixth. ... Mike Harrison ran as high as second in the opening laps before fading to finish seventh. ... Logan Martin gained six spots and finished ninth. ... Drake Troutman and Blaze Burwell tangled on lap 29 to draw the race's third caution; Troutman was unable to continue while Burwell recovered to finish 11th. ... Bob Gardner finished 14th after his solo-spin brought out the second yellow on lap 13. ... Michael Kloos stopped to draw the race's fifth and final caution on lap 49, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkers. ... Friday's 27-minute feature saw 15 drivers complete 51 laps.
On the move: Tyler Stevens of Searcy, Ark., started 14th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: English’s Viper Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by M&M Painting & Construction, Base Racing Fuels, H&A Development, Viper Risk Management Group, Supreme Enterprises, Capital Waste, Chase Motorsport Coach & Trailer, Davis Diesel Service, Bachman Trucking, Lents Towing & Recovery, Seay Motors, Creekside Auto Sales, Chiarelli Paving, VIPMAR Construction Services, PA Rubber, Bilstein Shock Absorbers, Schaeffer Racing Oil, Close Racing Supply and SRI Performance.
Points chase: After Brownstown: 1. Jason Feger (1,076); 2. Ryan Unzicker (982); 3. Bob Gardner (801); 4. Mike Harrison (757); 5. Blaze Burwell (702).
Current weather: Clear, 59°F
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Jason Feger
Time: 12.679 seconds
Polesitter: Shannon Babb
Heat race winners: Shannon Babb, Tanner English, Mike Harrison, Daryn Klein
Consolation race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Bob Gardner
Provisional starters: Justin White, Mark Voigt, Mark Oller
Next series race: September 16, Fairbury Speedway (Fairbury, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Fixes engine to Durham sted Clements

Feature lineup

Row 1: Babb, English
Row 2: Klein, Harrison
Row 3: Feger, Unzicker
Row 4: D. Erb Jr., Burwell
Row 5: Manville, Herzog
Row 6: Troutman, Blight
Row 7: Wever, Stevens
Row 8: Martin, Kloos
Row 9: Jackson Jr., Gardner
Row 10: Bauer, Griffaw
Row 11: White, Voigt
Row 12: Oller
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information