Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/29/2024 23:22:17

Sponsor 743
September 9
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: WISSOTA Late Models (John Seitz Memorial) - $9,200
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 10, 5:53 pm)
Edginton earns first career Seitz Memorial, $9,200
John Seitz Memorial
  1. Shane Edginton
  2. Chad Becker
  3. Cole Searing
  4. Cole Schill
  5. Bryce Sward
  6. Brody Troftgruben
  7. Jake Redetzke
  8. Jeff Provinzino
  9. Chad Mahder
  10. Scott Greer
  11. Jordan Tollakson
  12. Josh Skorczewski
  13. Trevor Anderson
  14. Mike Balcaen
  15. Ryan Kereluk
  16. Lance Schill
  17. Tyler Peterson
  18. Mike Greseth
  19. Dustin Strand
  20. Morgan Ward Grosz
  21. Brad Seng
  22. Ryan Corbett
  23. A.J. Diemel
  24. John Seng
  25. Jeff Massingill
  26. Don Shaw
presented by
Mike Spieker/speedway-shots.com
Shane Edginton during the John Seitz Memorial weekend.
What won the race: Using an inside move to take the lead from Tyler Peterson at turn-two exit, seventh-starting Shane Edginton of East Saint Paul, Manitoba, led the final 13 laps to win Saturday's $9,200 17th annual John Seitz Memorial at River Cities Speedway. Edington earned his first career victory in the prestigious WISSOTA-sanctioned event.
Quotable: “Oh man, I’ve been wanting to get to this victory lane so, so long,” Edginton said. “We struggled so bad at the start of this year and to win this thing, this is just amazing. To (win) this in front of everybody, all my friends and family are here, everybody came down, this is such a big event to Canadians. I don’t know, I think Tyler (Peterson) broke something, just misfortunate luck, but the car was spot on. This is my Daytona 500, I don’t need to win another race again in my life after winning this deal.”
Key notes: Peterson, of Hickson, N.D., led laps 33-79 before making contact with an infield tire while racing amongst lapped traffic, folding his nose under the left-front tire; Peterson slid back to fourth before making contact with Cole Searing on lap 84, sending Searing spinning and drawing the race's final caution. Peterson took responsibility for the caution and pulled off, while Searing was allowed to retain the fourth position. ... Twentieth-starting Chad Becker moved into the runner-up spot on the lap-85 restart and trailed Edginton for the final seven laps, finishing 1.802 seconds back. ... Pole-starting Searing, of Huron, S.D., rounded-out the podium. ... Second-starting Cole Schill led the first 32 laps before the race's fourth caution for a planned fuel stop; Schill never led again and faded to finish fourth. ... Bryce Sward improved eight positions and finished fifth. ... Jeff Provinzino gained 17 spots and finished eighth. ... Winner of Thursday's $1,892 Prelude to the Johnny, sixth-running Mike Greseth pulled off on lap 84 along with Peterson. ... Saturday's 92-lap feature was slowed by eight cautions, including three 10-minute red flags and lasted 77 minutes, with 10 drivers completing the entire distance and 15 running at the finish. ... The event honored John Seitz, the four-time Northern LateModel Racing Association series champion who died of apparent natural causes while on a snowmobile trip in 2007, at the age of 36.
On the move: Chad Becker of Aberdeen, S.D., started 20th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Edginton’s MB Customs Race Car is powered by a Karl’s Performance crate motor and carries sponsorship from Connolly Signs and Service, Performance Auto Canada, S&S Transport, Red River Messenger, Noble Locksmith, Polymers Shapes, Forks Mobile Wash, Kennedy Floorings, Cousins Oils and Prairie Performance.
Points chase: National WISSOTA points before River Cities: 1. Tyler Peterson (2,216); 2. Chad Becker (2,215); 3. Kevin Burdick (2,157); 4. Pat Doar (2,124); 5. Kyle Peterlin (2,102).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 57°F
Car count: 54
Polesitter: Cole Searing
Dash winner: Cole Searing
Heat race winners: Cole Schill, Tyler Peterson, A.J. Diemel, Shane Edginton, Mike Greseth, Chad Mahder
Consolation race winners: Josh Skorczewski, Jordan Tollakson, Jeff Provinzino
Provisional starters: Lance Schill
Next series race: September 14, I-94 EMR Speedway (Fergus Falls, MN) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Searing, C. Schill
Row 2: Greseth, Mahder
Row 3: Peterson, Diemel
Row 4: Edginton, Massingill
Row 5: Troftgruben, D. Strand
Row 6: Balcaen, Redetzke
Row 7: Sward, B. Seng
Row 8: T. Anderson, J. Seng
Row 9: Skorczewski, Jor. Tollakson
Row 10: M. Ward Grosz, Becker
Row 11: Kereluk, Greer
Row 12: R. Corbett, Shaw
Row 13: Provinzino, L. Schill
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information