Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 21:00:11

Sponsor 743
August 19
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Northern Series (Hall of Fame Night) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 25, 2:25 am)
Rice rules Atomic's Hall of Fame Night for $5,000
Hall of Fame Night
  1. Josh Rice
  2. R.J. Conley
  3. Kirk Phillips
  4. Justin Cooper
  5. Seth Daniels
  6. Dave Hornikel
  7. Bill Lewis
  8. Shane Bailey
  9. Ralph Withem
  10. Rod Conley
  11. Shannon Roese
  12. Austin Seelig
  13. Freddie Carpenter
  14. Caiden Black
  15. Austin Lay
  16. Jerry Bowersock
  17. Clint Keenan
  18. Russel Throckmorton
  19. Mike Wilson
  20. Audie Swartz
  21. Vern LeFevers
  22. Donnie Jeschke
  23. A.J. Hurt
  24. Kevin Layne
presented by
Tyler Carr
Josh Rice rises in victory lane at Atomic Speedway.
What won the race: Eleventh-starting Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., marched through the field and took the lead on lap 11, pacing the final 20 circuits to win Saturday's $5,000 Hall of Fame Night at Atomic Speedway. Rice recorded his fifth Valvoline Iron-Man Northern Series victory of the season and his 11th career tour triumph, tying Michael Chilton for the lead on the tour's all-time wins list.
Key notes: Josh Rice started the night in the Hatcher Racing No. 6 but shifted to his regular No. 11. ... After winning June's $3,000 unsanctioned Super Late Model race at Atomic, R.J. Conley led the first 10 laps from the pole before being overtaken by Rice and settling for second, 2.423 seconds back. ... Second-starting Kirk Phillips finished third. ... Seventh-starting Seth Daniels moved into fifth on a lap-28 restart and completed the top five. ... Bill Lewis advanced six positions and finished seventh. ... Shane Bailey gained nine spots and finished eighth. ... Rod Conley ran as high as sixth in the early laps before having to tag the field on lap seven, then recovering to finish 10th. ... Fourth-running Freddie Carpenter pulled off with a flat right rear tire on lap 27. ... Sixth-running Caiden Black called it a night on lap 25. ... Jerry Bowesock was running eighth when he retired on lap 24. ... Originally scheduled for Aug. 5 before becoming rain-postponed, Saturday's 30-lap main event lasted 36 minutes with five drivers completing the distance and 12 running at the finish. ... Kevin Layne scratched from the feature.
On the move: Winner Josh Rice of Verona, Ky., started 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Rice’s Rick Jones-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Sunesis Holdings & Construction, BLOX Spiked Ice, Extreme Sportswear, Map It Right Engineering & Land Surveying, Chain Locker USA, Maxwell Trucking, AirMax Heating and Cooling, ATC Bolts & Fasteners LLC, Northern Kentucky Equipment, Bazell Race Fuels, Integra Shocks, Accu-Force Dynos & Testers, STAKT Products, TopSide Marketing and Slicker Graphics.
Points chase: After Atomic: 1. Josh Rice (550); 2. Austin Lay (299); 3. Michael Chilton (261); 4. Rod Conley (214); 5. Zack Dohm (205).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: R.J. Conley
Time: 13.553 seconds
Polesitter: R.J. Conley
Heat race winners: R.J. Conley, Kirk Phillips, Justin Cooper
Next series race: August 26, Lake Cumberland Speedway (Burnside, KY) $15,022
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: R.J. Conley, Phillips
Row 2: Cooper, A. Swartz
Row 3: Black, Bowersock
Row 4: Daniels, Rod Conley
Row 5: F. Carpenter, Hornikel
Row 6: Jo. Rice, Withem
Row 7: Lewis, Jeschke
Row 8: Keenan, Wilson
Row 9: Bailey, A. Lay
Row 10: Roese, Seelig
Row 11: LeFevers, Hurt 
Row 12: Throckmorton, Layne

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information