Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/29/2024 21:35:21

Sponsor 743
August 19
Highland Speedway,
Highland, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 20, 2:11 pm)
Feger hustles to $5,000 MARS win at Highland
  1. Jason Feger
  2. Bob Gardner
  3. Mike Harrison
  4. Cody Laney
  5. Kyle Hammer
  6. Daryn Klein
  7. Kye Blight
  8. Todd Rehg
  9. Matt Bailey
  10. Tanner English
  11. Jordan Suhre
  12. Blaze Burwell
  13. Rodney Melvin
  14. Ryan Unzicker
  15. Justin White
  16. Doug Tye
  17. Lee Williams
  18. Josh Heuiser
  19. Paul Kuper
  20. Michael Kloos
  21. Dan Jacober
  22. Rusty Griffaw
  23. Mark Voigt
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Jason Feger holds up Saturday's $5,000 payday with the MARS Series.
What won the race: With an inside pass exiting turn four, Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., took the lead from race-long pacesetter Tanner English on lap 24 and led the final 17 circuits to win Saturday's $5,000 MARS Championship feature at Highland Speedway. Feger secured his fifth MARS victory of the season and the 20th of his career.
Quotable: “Yeah they did a full-farm (of the track surface) and it was fast, I mean, it was fast before that,” Feger said. “Heck, I just love coming here. It feels weird not having to start in the back, I feel like we always start in the back and come up through here. That’s Highland man, it’s a little bullring, we beat and bang and put on a show and the place always packs it in here, thanks to these fans for coming out.”
Key notes: Feger's victory marked the second consecutive night that a driver earned their 20th career MARS victory after Tony Jackson Jr. won Friday's $5,000 opener at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, Ill. ... World of Outlaws Series regular Tanner English led the first 23 laps before being overtaken by Feger and sustaining a flat left rear while running second on lap 27; English finished 10th after changing the tire. ... Sixth-starting Bob Gardner took second from Mike Harrison on lap 39 and finished 1.409 seconds behind Feger. ... Fourth-starting Harrison, of Highland, Ill., battled Feger for nearly the entire race and pressured him in the late stages until hopping the turn-two cushion on lap 36 and losing second to Gardner; Harrison settled for third. ... Friday's runner-up at Tri-City, Cody Laney finished fourth and captured a top-five finish for the second straight night. ... Kyle Hammer advanced seven positions and finished fifth. … After winning July's $6,000 Challenge of Champions at Highland, Daryn Klein finished sixth. ... Polesitter Kye Blight faded to finish seventh. ... Todd Rehg gained six spots and finished eighth. ... Saturday's main event lasted 30 minutes after being slowed by six separate incidents, the largest being a 10-minute red flag for cleanup when seventh-running Michael Kloos tumbled down the frontstretch on lap nine; although uninjured, Kloos was unable to continue. ... Fifteen drivers completed 40 laps with 17 running at the finish.
On the move: Cody Laney of Torrance, Calif., started 11th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Feger’s Longhorn is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Titan Industries, Digital Copy Systems, Hoker Trucking, The Big Cheese MM, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Remtek Enterprises, and RLM Enterprises and Cheap Cars.
Points chase: After Highland: 1. Jason Feger (856); 2. Ryan Unzicker (787); 3. Mike Harrison (696); 4. Bob Gardner (659); 5. Blaze Burwell (564).
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Kye Blight
Time: 12.916 seconds
Polesitter: Kye Blight
Heat race winners: Bob Gardner, Tanner English, Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Justin White
Provisional starters: Mark Voigt, Paul Kuper, Dan Jacober
Next series race: September 1, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Blight, English
Row 2: Feger, Harrison
Row 3: Melvin, Gardner
Row 4: Klein, Kloos
Row 5: Bailey, Unzicker
Row 6: Laney, Hammer
Row 7: Griffaw, Rehg
Row 8: Burwell, White
Row 9: Suhre, Tye
Row 10: Williams, Heuiser
Row 11: Voigt, Kuper
Row 12: Jacober

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information