Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2024 04:14:00

Sponsor 743
August 1
Boone Speedway,
Boone, IA
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Hawkeye 50) - $15,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 2, 2:10 am)
Pierce repels charging Thornton at Boone
Hawkeye 50
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  3. Tanner English
  4. Chris Madden
  5. Dennis Erb Jr.
  6. Brian Shirley
  7. Cade Dillard
  8. Shane Clanton
  9. Daulton Wilson
  10. Todd Cooney
  11. Ryan Gustin
  12. Gordy Gundaker
  13. Nick Hoffman
  14. Brent Larson
  15. Brandon Sheppard
  16. Johnny Scott
  17. Kyle Bronson
  18. Cody Laney
  19. Trevor Gundaker
  20. Kyle Strickler
  21. Chad Simpson
  22. Dustin Walker
  23. Daniel Hilsabeck
  24. Chris Simpson
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Bobby Pierce held off Ricky Thornton Jr. to win Tuesday's Hawkeye 50.
What won the race: Surviving a late slipup on the cushion, outside front-row starter Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., repelled charging Ricky Thornton Jr. to lead all the way in Boone Speedway's Hawkeye 50 to earn $15,000. Pierce beat the sixth-starting Thornton to the checkers by 1.277 seconds, nabbing his sixth World of Outlaws Case Late Models victory of the season and the 10th of his career.
Quotable: "You know, Ricky (Thornton Jr.) is probably one of the best drivers in the country right now, if not the best,” Pierce said. “I was pretty nervous with him behind me, no doubt. I knew it was him (behind me) and I had to change my line up, you had to finesse the race track a lot, it got very critical to hit your marks.”
Key notes: It's the third straight 1-2 finish for Pierce and Thornton Jr. after Thornton topped Pierce in July 25's XR Super Series event at Off Road Speedway and in Saturday's Prairie Dirt Classic at Fairbury. ... Tanner English moved into third on lap 41 and finished third. ... Seventh-starting Chris Madden finished fourth after taking the spot on lap 42; Madden regained the runner-up points position heading into Cedar Lake's three-day USA Nationals event. ... After running as high as second in the early laps, pole-starting Dennis Erb Jr. faded to fifth. ... Todd Cooney overcame a flat right rear tire when he drew the race's only caution on lap 39 and finished 10th. ... After sliding his right rear off the track surface and flipping his primary car during qualifying, Kyle Bronson finished 17th aboard his backup. ... Cody Laney of Torrance, Calif., finished 18th in his WoO debut. ... Tuesday's 17-minute feature saw 16 drivers complete 50 laps and 19 running at the finish.
On the move: Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., started 11th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Cajun Pools & Spas, Bloomington Normal Truck Performance, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Vic Hill Race Engines, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Toyota of Danville, Ted Brown’s Quality Paint and Body Shop, Extreme Electric, Fast1 Speed Shop, Performance Bodies, A Plus Vacuum, Lekg Tree Service, Bert Transmission by Budda, Velocita-USA, Robert and Sons Aluminum, VP Racing Fuels and FK Rod Ends.
Points chase: After Boone: 1. Bobby Pierce (3,588); 2. Chris Madden (3,504); 3. Ryan Gustin (3,498); 4. Nick Hoffman (3,466); 5. Brandon Sheppard (3,452); 6. Kyle Bronson (3,434); 7. Brian Shirley (3,422); 8. Tanner English (3,396); 9. Dennis Erb Jr. (3,354); 10. Shane Clanton (3,266); 11. Gordy Gundaker (3,210); 12. Cade Dillard (3,176).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 75°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time: 14.845 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Erb Jr.
Heat race winners: Bobby Pierce, Ryan Gustin, Cade Dillard
Consolation race winners: Brent Larson
Provisional starters: Dustin Walker, Daniel Hilsabeck
Next series race: August 3, Cedar Lake Speedway (New Richmond, WI) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Erb Jr., Pierce
Row 2: English, Gustin
Row 3: Dillard, Thornton Jr.
Row 4: Madden, J. Scott
Row 5: Clanton, Wilson
Row 6: Shirley, G. Gundaker
Row 7: Cooney, Sheppard
Row 8: Hoffman, T. Gundaker
Row 9: Chad Simpson, Strickler
Row 10: B. Larson, Chris Simpson
Row 11: Bronson, Laney
Row 12: Walker, Hilsabeck

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information