Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/22/2024 02:12:51

Sponsor 743
July 3
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Lil' Bill Corum Memorial) - $21,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 8:41 pm)
McDowell repels Owens for $21,000 at Tazewell
Lil' Bill Corum Memorial
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Jimmy Owens
  3. Ricky Weiss
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Brandon Williams
  6. Mack McCarter
  7. Jason Trammell
  8. Austin Neely
  9. Aaron Guinn
  10. Adam Ahl
  11. Josh Sneed
  12. Dakotah Knuckles
  13. Josh Henry
  14. Steve Smith
  15. Brian Shockley
  16. Brian Smith
  17. Matthew Holt
  18. John Llewellyn
  19. Vic Hill
  20. David Payne
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracingphotos.net
Dale McDowell stands with his team in victory lane after winning $21,000.
What won the race: Pole-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., led all 75 laps to record a $21,000 victory in Monday's rain-postponed third annual Lil' Bill Corum Memorial at Tazewell Speedway. After closing within a few car lengths of McDowell in the second half, Jimmy Owens finished second, 1.143 seconds back in the event co-sanctioned by the Schaeffer's Oil Spring Nationals and the Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series.
Quotable: “We did have some close calls out there, but when you got Jimmy (Owens), Ricky (Weiss), and you got those guys behind 'ya, you gotta make quick choices,” McDowell said. “Shane (McDowell) and Landon (Hayes) did an awesome job adjusting on the car, made my job a little easier. I just had to make decisions out there that I wasn’t quite ready for, but it all turned out. I used to watch Lil’ Bill Corum when I was a kid, so I’m very honored to win this race; when I was a kid, I’d come to Atomic (Speedway) and here and just watch him kick their ass, so, to have this race in his honor, I’m very honored to win it.”
Key notes: McDowell earned his first career Lil' Bill Corum Memorial victory, collecting more than $23,000 including the $2,100 fast qualifier award courtesy of Toyota Knoxville. ... A winner of four of the last five Spring Nationals events, McDowell notched his 17th career victory on the series while securing his fourth career Iron-Man Southern tour triumph. … Owens's runner-up finish came after he claimed his first win of the season in Saturday's $10,000 Hunt the Front Series stop at Senoia Raceway. ... Ricky Weiss ran as high as second in the early laps before settling for third. ... Donald McIntosh advanced two positions and finished fourth. ... Mack McCarter gained three spots and finished sixth. ... Jason Trammell started 13th and finished seventh. ... Dakotah Knuckles drew the race's final caution on lap 57 when he lost power and pulled off. ... Vic Hill and David Payne tangled while battling for sixth on lap four, making hard contact and ending their nights. ... Monday's feature was slowed by five separate incidents and lasted 36 minutes, with eight competitors completing all 75 laps. ... The event honored Lil’ Bill Corum, a Hall of Famer at three different tracks in the region and winner of more than 300 races, including 1981’s NDRA Stroh’s 100 at Atomic Speedway. Corum’s career spanned more than 30 years (1959 to ’89) throughout the East-Tennessee and North Georgia area.
On the move: Brandon Williams of Crossville, Tenn., started 11th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Northeastern Fabrication, Fox Racing Shox, Campbell Insulation Specialists, Shackleford Enterprises and Spring-Pro.
Points chase: After Tazewell (Iron-Man South): 1. Josh Rice (240); 2. Adam Ahl (204); 3. Michael Chilton (181); 4. Camaron Marlar (180); 5. Jensen Ford (173). Carson Ferguson was crowned the 2023 Spring Nationals champion on May 28, this is a non-points event for that series.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Dale McDowell
Time: 11.267 seconds
Polesitter: Dale McDowell
Heat race winners: Dale McDowell, Ricky Weiss, Austin Neely
Next series race: August 4, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $7,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: McDowell, Weiss
Row 2: Neely, Owens
Row 3: Payne, McIntosh
Row 4: Knuckles, Hill
Row 5: McCarter, Henry
Row 6: Williams, Llewellyn
Row 7: Trammell, Guinn
Row 8: Shockley, B. Smith
Row 9: S. Smith, Ahl
Row 10: Sneed, Holt

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information