Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 20:09:41

Sponsor 743
July 2
Stuart International Speedway,
Stuart, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 3, 3:26 pm)
Late restart lifts Zeitner to Stuart redemption
  1. Justin Zeitner
  2. Andrew Kosiski
  3. Corey Zeitner
  4. Josh Leonard
  5. Jaxon Saathoff
  6. Jason Hahne
  7. Bill Leighton Jr.
  8. Jesse Sobbing
  9. Kyle Berck
  10. Tad Pospisil
  11. Brian Kosiski
  12. Dylan Sillman
  13. Zach Zeitner
  14. Paul Glendenning
  15. Curt Schroeder
  16. Kyle Krampe
  17. Charlie McKenna
  18. Derrick Stewart
  19. Darrel DeFrance
  20. Brad Perdue
  21. Brett Hopp
  22. Kale Kosiski
  23. J.C. Wyman
  24. Jay Burdic
presented by
Justin Zeitner enjoys victory lane at Stuart International Speedway.
What won the race: Ninth-starting Justin Zeitner of Malvern, Iowa, executed a perfect lap-23 restart, moving from third-to-first and leading the final eight laps to win Sunday's $3,000 Malvern Bank Series stop at Stuart International Speedway. Zeitner secured his third series win of the year and his second straight, just three weeks after a flat right rear tire robbed him of victory in the closing laps at Stuart.
Quotable: “I feel like we’d be maybe 2-for-2 here, but hey, you just gotta come back and make a statement when something like that happens,” Zeitner said. “We brought a different car tonight (than in June), but this one, we didn’t start out good, but I told (my crew chief) before the feature we weren’t great obviously tonight, I said just do what you want to it and don’t tell me until the ride home; I guess that’s why I have him.”
Key notes: Zeitner's victory is the 10th of his career with the Malvern Bank Series, moving him into sole possession of fourth on the tour's all-time victories list. ... Andrew Kosiski led laps 15-22 before being overtaken by Zeitner on the late restart and settled for the runner-up spot, 2.449 seconds back. ... Corey Zeitner ran as high as second before losing a spot to on the final restart. ... Eighth-starting Josh Leonard initiated the race's final caution on lap 22 when he bounced off the turn-two wall and came down the track, striking Derrick Stewart and Charlie McKenna; Stewart spun rapidly and nearly became airborne with the ensuing damage ending his night while Leonard piloted his heavily-damaged machine to finish fourth; McKenna had equal damage on the right side of his car and completed just one more lap before calling it a night, finishing 17th. ... Series points leader Jesse Sobbing spun on lap seven while racing three-wide with Jaxon Saathoff and McKenna for third; Sobbing spun off the nose of McKenna but avoided additional contact and recovered to finish eighth. ... Pole-starting Kyle Berck led the first 14 laps before tangling with Brett Hopp; Hopp slowed suddenly at the exit of turn two and appeared headed for the infield just as Berck was attempting to lap him on the inside; the two made contact with Berck's right-front damage causing him to fade in the closing laps and finish ninth. ... Brian Kosiski rebounded to finish 11th after tangling with J.C. Wyman on lap seven and sustaining a flat tire. ... Sunday's feature, the 10th race of the season and sixth-ever series trip to Stuart, was slowed by six cautions and lasted 27 minutes, with 16 drivers completing 30 laps.
On the move: Winner Justin Zeitner started ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Zeitner’s Edge Chassis by Most is sponsored by Zeitner & Sons Refrigerated Transport, ZSI Logistics, Liek’hus Lawn LLC, D.J.’s Dugout, Big Ty’s Smoked Meats, Tree Services of Omaha, JP Nelson Painting, LLC, Hi-Temp Products Company, MCT Companies and Malvern Bank.
Points chase: After Stuart: 1. Jesse Sobbing (1,934); 2. Tad Pospisil (1,926); 3. Bill Leighton Jr. (1,874): 4. Justin Zeitner (1,856); 5. Josh Leonard (1,840).
Current weather: Clear, 77°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Kyle Berck
Time: 12.636 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Berck
Heat race winners: J.C. Wyman, Charlie McKenna, Jason Hahne, Corey Zeitner
Consolation race winners: Curt Schroeder
Provisional starters: Jay Burdic, Brad Perdue, Brett Hopp, Kyle Krampe
Next series race: July 15, Shelby County Speedway (Harlan, IA) $7,600
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Berck, A. Kosiski
Row 2: Saathoff, C. Zeitner
Row 3: Sobbing, McKenna
Row 4: Leighton Jr., Leonard
Row 5: J. Zeitner, Hahne
Row 6: Sillman, Stewart
Row 7: Glendenning, Wyman
Row 8: Pospisil, B. Kosiski
Row 9: Schroeder, DeFrance
Row 10: K. Kosiski, Z. Zeitner
Row 11: Burdic, Perdue
Row 12: Hopp, Krampe

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information