Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 21:37:00

Sponsor 743
June 3
Latrobe Speedway,
Latrobe, PA
Sanction: Unsanctioned Crates (604) (Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Howie Balis (last updated June 4, 11:22 pm)
Lanigan tallies $10,000 Crate win at Latrobe
Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial
  1. Darrell Lanigan
  2. Jeremy Wonderling
  3. Noah Brunell
  4. Ryan Frazee
  5. Henry Hornsby III
  6. Braeden Dillinger
  7. Michael Duritsky
  8. Troy Shields
  9. Joe Moyer
  10. Joe Martin
  11. Dan Angelicchio
  12. Tommy Schirnhofer Jr.
  13. Marino Angelicchio
  14. Mason Zeigler
  15. John Over
  16. Brandon Burgoon
  17. Jeff Ferguson
  18. Brent Trimble
  19. Zach Gunn
  20. Clinton Hersh
  21. Doug Horton
  22. David Pangrazio
  23. Kyle Hardy
  24. Ben Policz
presented by
Howie Balis
Winner Darrell Lanigan and the Sterbutzel family at Latrobe.
What won the race: Making a surprise guest appearance in a Dirk Neal-owned Daughtery Motorsports Rocket Chassis, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., overtook pole-starting Jeremy Wonderling midway through Saturday night's 40-lap Jesse Sterbutzel Memorial Crate Late Model feature and marched on to a $10,000 victory at Latrobe Speedway. Wonderling slipped back to fourth before rallying to finish second.feature.
Key notes: Lanigan, a three-time World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series champion, was making just his second start of the season. He finished 23rd in Wednesday's Castrol FloRacing Night in America at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., driving a John Weber-owned car. ... It was Lanigan's first win since an ALMS-sanctioned event on May 30, 2021, at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. ... Lanigan, who started outside the front row, drove the same Rocket Chassis that Mark Whitener has driven to victory in the last two Bill Emig Memorial events at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pa. ... Several cautions slowed the action but no cars were seriously damaged. ... Mason Zeigler of Chalk Hill, Pa., piloted Joe Zelensky's No. 58 Crate Late Model. ... The original third- through fifth-place finishers — David Pangrazio, Kyle Hardy and Ben Policz were disqualified in postrace tech inspection. ... The richest race in Latrobe's history honored Jesse Sterbutzel of McClellandtown, Pa., a longtime dirt and asphalt Late Model racer who also dabbled in motocross and snowmobile racing. He died on May 31, 2022, at 52 after battling cancer. … Drake Troutman won the Super Late Model feature on the undercard; the division drew 12 cars.
On the move: Noeh Brunnell of New Alexandria, Pa., started 20th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Lanigan drove a Dirk Neal-owned Daughtery Motorsports Rocket Chassis sponsored by CRW Home Center, Brackman Chevrolet-Buick, Huey Brothers Well Services, Fisher Furniture and Richmond Insurance.
Points chase: Entering the event, Clinton Hersh (100) of Somerset, Pa., led track points over Michael Duritsky (93) and Ryan Frazee (86).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 70°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Brent Trimble
Time: 20.20 seconds
Polesitter: Jeremy Wonderling
Heat race winners: Jeremy Wonderling, Darrell Lanigan, Braeden Dillinger, Henry Hornsby III
Consolation race winners: Troy Shields
Provisional starters: Clinton Hersh, Doug Horton
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information