Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/16/2024 10:10:16

Sponsor 743
May 29
411 Motor Speedway,
Seymour, TN
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Scott Sexton Memorial) - $5,052
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 1, 9:52 pm)
Hedgecock outduels Weiss for $5,052 at 411
Scott Sexton Memorial
  1. Cory Hedgecock
  2. Ricky Weiss
  3. Donald McIntosh
  4. Mack McCarter
  5. Jensen Ford
  6. Josh Henry
  7. Adam Ahl
  8. Chase Oliver
  9. Tristan Chamberlain
  10. Chase King
  11. Dakotah Knuckles
  12. Mike Bargo
  13. Jake Whitehead
  14. Thomas Langley
  15. Rusty Ballenger
  16. Stacy Boles
  17. James Kelso
  18. Austin Neely
  19. Booger Brooks
  20. Kenneth Howell
  21. Tim Bounds
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
Cory Hedgecock earned $5,052 in the Scott Sexton Memorial.
What won the race: Pole-starting Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., overtook Ricky Weiss on the eighth lap and never looked back, pacing the final 33 laps to win Monday's 11th annual Scott Sexton Memorial at 411 Motor Speedway. Hedgecock earned $5,052 for his eighth overall victory of the season and the 10th of his career with the Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series, moving him into a tie for the lead on the tour's all-time win list.
Key notes: Weiss, of Headingley, Manitoba, led the first seven laps before being overtaken by Hedgecock and finishing 1,860 seconds back. ... Fifth-starting Donald McIntosh moved into third on the final lap. ... Mack McCarter advanced four positions and finished fourth. ... Adam Ahl and Tristan Chamberlain each gained four spots, finishing seventh and ninth. ... Chase King started 16th and finished 10th. ... Dakotah Knuckles ran as high as fourth at the race's halfway mark before tagging the field on lap 30 and rebounding to finish 11th. ... Rusty Ballenger ran inside the top-five in the opening laps before retiring on lap 30 and finishing 15th. ... Fourth-running Booger Brooks pulled off on lap 10, finishing 19th. ... Monday's main event honors Scott Sexton, a longtime racer and fan favorite who competed more than two decades in East Tennessee. Sexton won 10 Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series events and was crowned the Volunteer Speedway track champion in 1991 and ’95; Sexton passed away in January, 2013 at the age of 46. ... Monday's feature was slowed by four cautions and lasted 21 minutes, with 13 competitors completing 40 laps.
On the move: Chase Oliver of Crossville, Ala., started 14th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Hedgecock’s BMF Race Car is powered by an Eagle Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from E-Z-Go, STI Trucking, SFP Performance, W.E. Hardscapes & Masonry, Currin Construction, Noble Knights Construction Services, Vineyard Enterprises, Winters Performance and Quickcar Racing.
Points chase: After 411: 1. Jensen Ford (173); 2. Josh Rice (160); 3. Adam Ahl (153); 4. Dakotah Knuckles (151); 5. Zack Dohm (140).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 66°F
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Cory Hedgecock
Time: 14.447 seconds
Polesitter: Cory Hedgecock
Next series race: June 16, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $7,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hedgecock, Weiss
Row 2: Ballenger, Ford
Row 3: McIntosh, Knuckles
Row 4: Brooks, McCarter
Row 5: Henry, Neely
Row 6: Ahl, Whitehead
Row 7: T. Chamberlain, Oliver
Row 8: Boles, King
Row 9: Bargo, Bounds
Row 10: Howell, Langley
Row 11: Kelso
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information