Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:59:43

Sponsor 743
May 28
Spoon River Speedway,
Banner, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series (Gary Cook Jr. Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 29, 8:55 pm)
Feger tops Unzicker for $5,000 at Spoon River
Gary Cook Jr. Memorial
  1. Jason Feger
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Rich Bell
  4. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  5. Payton Freeman
  6. Blaze Burwell
  7. Billy Moyer Jr.
  8. Tim Lance
  9. Bob Gardner
  10. Brandon Eskew
  11. Mike Harrison
  12. Clay Stuckey
  13. Jake Little
  14. Justin Reed
  15. Kye Blight
  16. Matt Furman
  17. Paul Parker
  18. Mark Voigt
  19. Rusty Griffaw
  20. Justin White
  21. Doug Tye
  22. Jordan Bauer
  23. Cole Swibold
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Jason Feger waves the checkered flag after his MARS victory at Spoon River Speedway.
What won the race: Third-starting Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., took the lead with an inside move on lap six and never looked back en route to winning Sunday's 40-lap MARS Late Model Championship Series portion of the Gary Cook Jr. Memorial at Spoon River Speedway. He earned $5,000 for his second series victory of the weekend and the 18th of his career.
Quotable: “I got the lead pretty early there on the bottom," Feger said. "I never really got a chance to get up on the race track and I wasn’t sure where to go. I just kept it down there and was gonna make him (Ryan Unzicker) go by me on the outside."
Key notes: Feger notched his second consecutive Gary Cook Jr. Memorial victory and his third win in the last year at Spoon River, running his winnings to more than $15,000 at the track during that span. ... Fourth-starting Ryan Unzicker finished 1.423 seconds back; he nearly took the lead on lap 17 before a caution negated the pass. ... Rich Bell advanced six positions and finished third. ... Tommy Sheppard Jr. gained 19 spots and finished fourth. ... Blaze Burwell moved forward five positions and finished sixth. ... Tim Lance started 17th and finished eighth. ... Mike Harrison led the first five laps from the pole before fading to finish 11th. ... Rich Dawson and Rickey Frankel scratched from the main event. ... Sunday's feature, the finale of a Memorial Day tripleheader weekend, was slowed by five cautions and lasted 22 minutes, with 15 competitors completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Tommy Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin, Ill., started 23rd and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Feger’s Longhorn Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from Titan Industries, Digital Copy Systems, Hoker Trucking, The Big Cheese MM, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Remtek Enterprises, and RLM Enterprises and Cheap Cars.
Points chase: After Spoon River: 1. Jason Feger (550); 2. Ryan Unzicker (528); 3. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (461); 4. Mike Harrison (458); 5. Bob Gardner (398).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Billy Moyer Jr.
Time: 13.768 seconds
Polesitter: Mike Harrison
Heat race winners: Billy Moyer Jr., Mike Harrison, Ryan Unzicker
Next series race: July 21, Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Harrison, Moyer Jr.
Row 2: Feger, Unzicker
Row 3: Freeman, Gardner
Row 4: C. Stuckey, Eskew
Row 5: Bell, Reed
Row 6: Burwell, Bauer
Row 7: Blight, Little
Row 8: Furman, Griffaw
Row 9: Lance, Swibold
Row 10: Parker, White
Row 11: Voigt, Tye
Row 12: T. Sheppard Jr., Dawson
Row 13: Frankel
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information