Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/17/2024 19:26:57

Sponsor 743
May 21
Adams County Speedway,
Quincy, IL
Sanction: MARS Championship Series (Adams County Showdown) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 22, 4:59 pm)
Unzicker tops Feger for $5,000 at Quincy
Adams County Showdown
  1. Ryan Unzicker
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Tommy Sheppard Jr.
  4. Rodney Melvin
  5. Rich Dawson
  6. Jake Little
  7. Justin Reed
  8. Mike Harrison
  9. Trevor Gundaker
  10. Mark Burgtorf
  11. Bob Gardner
  12. Kye Blight
  13. Justin White
  14. Rusty Griffaw
  15. Austin Howes
  16. Tyler Erb
  17. Blaze Burwell
  18. Mark Voigt
  19. Charlie Cole
  20. Rickey Frankel
  21. Alan Westling
  22. Kyle Hammer
  23. Doug Tye
  24. Johnathan Huston
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
Ryan Unzicker (24) and Jason Feger (25) started on the front row.
What won the race: Winning his second straight MARS tour event, series points leader Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., led all 40 laps Sunday at Adams County Speedway for a $5,000 victory. Unzicker, Saturday’s winner at Charleston Speedway during the weekend’s Illinois tripleheader, took the checkers ahead of pole-starting Jason Feger, Friday’s winner at Kankakee.
Quotable: “It’s just a great feeling to win two in a row,” Unzicker said in victory lane.
Key notes: Winner Ryan Unzicker ran higher on the track most of the race but dropped low amid traffic in the race's late stages in repelling runner-up Jason Feger. ... Feger staying within several car lengths most of the way but never got alongside the winner. He clipped an infield tire in the final laps to seal his fate. ... Doug Tye's lap-14 spin in turn four collected third-running Tyler Erb, who had to restart on the tail. ... A second and final caution appeared when Johnathan Huston stopped exiting turn four just past halfway. ... Austin Howes made his first career MARS start. ... Engine issues for Kyle Hammer forced him into a Reid Millard backup car for the feature.
On the move: Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., started 12th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Unzicker’s MB Customs Race Car has a Pro Power Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from RJR Transportation, Brucker Farms, Mosquito Hero, Fairbury Fastener & Supply, Larimer Cows & Calves, Absolute Home Repair & Remodeling, Gary Miller’s Classic Auto, El Paso Outdoor Center, Unzicker Equipment, Renegade Fuels and Aftershock Decals & Design, Konstruction Services, Pro Tire and Automotive, Mackinac Valley Powder Coating, Logan Smith Collectibles, Clean It Up 843 Pressure Washing Professionals, A Solution HVAC & Construction, Budda Bert, Dirtcarlift, Keyser Manufacturing, Allstar Performance, NAPA El Paso, Action Suspension and Varsitee Screenprinting.
Points chase: After Adams County: 1. Ryan Unzicker (369); 2. Jason Feger (349); 3. Mike Harrison (312); 4. Tommy Sheppard Jr. (276); 5. Rich Dawson (269).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Tyler Erb
Time: 12.907 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Feger
Heat race winners: Tyler Erb, Jason Feger, Ryan Unzicker
Next series race: May 26, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Feger, Unzicker
Row 2: Reed, T. Sheppard
Row 3: Harrison, T. Erb
Row 4: Dawson, Little
Row 5: Gardner, Huston
Row 6: Blight, Melvin
Row 7: White, Cole
Row 8: T. Gundaker, Burgtorf
Row 9: Griffaw, Frankel
Row 10: Burwell, Howes
Row 11: Voigt, Tye
Row 12: Westling, Hammer

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information