Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 00:28:28

Sponsor 743
January 22
Central Arizona Raceway,
Casa Grande, AZ
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Ernie Mincy Early Thaw) - $3,000
Information provided by: Andrew Haywood, staff and track reports (last updated January 22, 8:48 pm)
Moyer grabs $3,000 Early Thaw victory in Arizona
Ernie Mincy Early Thaw
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Don Shaw
  3. Clayton Stuckey
  4. Lance Schill
  5. Josh Zimpel
  6. Ryan Corbett
  7. Bricen James
  8. Scott Ward
  9. Rob Mayea
  10. Terry Carter
  11. Spencer Wilson
  12. Thomas Hunziker
  13. Matt Sparby
  14. Alysse Morris
  15. Steve Stultz
  16. Karl Tipton
  17. Ben Mickelson
  18. Brad Williams
  19. Russ Johnson
  20. Ricky Weiss
  21. Paul Mueller
  22. Larry Fitzsimmons
  23. Jason Strand
  24. Denver Nickeson
  25. Paul Rios
  26. Cole Schill
  27. Dustin Bluhm
presented by
What won the race: Taking the lead on a lap-24 restart, Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., led the rest of the way en route to winning Sunday's $3,000 fourth round of the Ernie Mincy Early Thaw at Central Arizona Raceway. Moyer's second career Early Thaw victory - his first since 2005 - is the 848th of his Hall of Fame career.
Key notes: Co-promoter of the Ernie Mincy Early Thaw miniseries Don Shaw advanced 17 positions and finished second, 0.674 of a second back. Shaw replaced Ken Schrader aboard the no. 9 machine he owns and finished behind his own car renumbered 21 for Moyer. ... Clayton Stuckey recorded his best finish of the year in third. ... Josh Zimpel and Ryan Corbett gained nine positions each, finishing fifth and sixth. ... Saturday's third round winner Bricen James gained 17 spots and finished seventh. ... Scott Ward advanced 13 positions and finished eighth. ... Karl Tipton led twice for 11 laps before fading to finish 16th. ... Winner of the first two rounds Ricky Weiss went off the track on lap three while running third, tagging the field. Weiss rebounded to run fifth by lap 25 before leaving the racing surface again on lap 29, ending his night and finishing 20th. ... Jason Strand led laps seven through 15 before leaving the racing surface, finishing 23rd. ... Polesitter Cole Schill led lap three before spinning in front of the field and causing a multi-car incident, ending his race and finishing 26th. ... In total there were five lead changes among five different drivers (Mayea 1-2; C. Schill 3; Tipton 4-6, 16-23; Strand 7-15, Moyer 24-40). ... Saturday's feature was slowed by seven cautions and lasted 47 minutes, with 14 competitors completing all 40 laps. ... The Ernie Mincy Early Thaw continues with Thursday's $2,000-to-win fifth round.
On the move: Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., started 19th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer's winning Don Shaw-owned Longhorn Chassis has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and is sponsored by Blaine Brothers, Shaw Trucking, Sure Step, North American Trailer, Lube-Tech, West Bay Leasing, Northern Metal Recycling, Dehn Oil, Greeley Plumbing, West Metro, Village Bank, Sidump’r and High Octane Wraps.
Current weather: Clear, 57°F
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Cole Schill
Heat race winners: Lance Schill, Ben Mickelson, Ricky Weiss, Karl Tipton
Next series race: January 26, Central Arizona Raceway (Casa Grande, Ariz.) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Schill, Mayea
Row 2: J. Strand, Tipton
Row 3: L. Schill, Mickelson
Row 4: Weiss, Moyer
Row 5: Stuckey, Bluhm
Row 6: Mueller, Morris
Row 7: Fitzsimmons, Zimpel
Row 8: Corbett, Sparby
Row 9: Stultz, Williams
Row 10: Shaw, Wilson
Row 11: Ward, Hunziker
Row 12: Nickeson, James
Row 13: Carter, Rios
Row 14: Johnson
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information