Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/07/2022 00:11:50

Sponsor 743
September 30
Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway,
Imperial, PA
Sanction: RUSH Crate Late Model Series (Bill Hendren Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 1, 2:13 pm)
Wonderling steals $10,000 Hendren Memorial
Bill Hendren Memorial
  1. Jeremy Wonderling
  2. Kyle Lukon
  3. Ben Scott
  4. Michael Norris
  5. Brandon Burgoon
  6. Michael Duritsky
  7. Ben Policz
  8. Joe Martin
  9. Garret Paugh
  10. Mike Reft
  11. Jon Lee
  12. Braeden Dillinger
  13. Dave Goble
  14. Zach Gunn
  15. Ryan Frazee
  16. Dan Lepro
  17. Craig Graham
  18. Brady Wonderling
  19. Justin Chance
  20. Matt Hill
  21. Cole Petrelle
  22. Tom Klein
  23. Philip Bubeck
  24. Tony Musolino
  25. Matt Latta
  26. Tim Shaffer
presented by
Jeremy Wonderling earned $10,000 for his fourth consecutive series victory.
What won the race: Eighth-starting Jeremy Wonderling of Wellsville, N.Y., took the point from race-long leader Kyle Lukon on lap 45 Friday and paced the final six circuits en route to winning the $10,000 12th annual Bill Hendren Memorial at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Wonderling's victory was his fourth straight with the RUSH Crate Late Model Series.
Quotable: “I never thought I was going to win a race at Pittsburgh last year let alone to come here tonight and do it,” Wonderling said. “This is a place you don’t come to once or twice a year and run well. Kyle (Lukon) was better in the open and long runs than I was, and I knew once we got to lapped traffic that was going to be a big deal. We were both digging the ditch down there, close to wall as we could be. I was just close enough to him that one time and he slipped it up off the corner. He tried to slide me once and we made a little contact, but this is 10 grand.”
Key notes: Kyle Lukon of Burgettstown, Pa., led the first 44 laps from the pole before giving way to Wonderling and finished 1.218 seconds back. ... Ben Scott of Delmar, Del., advanced 11 positions and finished third. ... Michael Norris, a RUSH winner at PPMS earlier this year, finished fourth. ... Brandon Burgoon gained six spots and placed fifth. ... Justin Chance ran as high as third at the halfway mark before retiring on lap 37 and finishing 19th. ... RUSH series points leader Logan Roberson retired from the second heat and was unable to compete for the remainder of the night. ... Frank Magill won the $300 non-qualifier race earlier in the evening in his fourth career RUSH Cate Late Model start. He also earned a complimentary pass to the Race Logic Chassis School with his victory. ... The 12th annual Bill Hendren Memorial, honoring the longtime engine builder who passed away in 2011, was slowed by four cautions, including a 10-minute red flag on lap 16. ... The race lasted 37 minutes with 14 competitors completing all 50 laps. … The Hendren Memorial was originally scheduled for Saturday as a companion to the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Pittsburgher. An unfavorable forecast due to the remnants of Hurricane Ian canceled the Saturday action, but PPMS officials made a last-minute announcement that Friday's scheduled $4,000-to-win RUSH show would become the high-paying Hendren Memorial.
On the move: Garret Paugh of Elkins, W.Va., started 23rd and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Wonderling’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Shuttleworth Auto Sales, Terry Prince Contracting, Cummings Trucking and Close Racing Supply.
Points chase: Before Tyler County: 1. Logan Roberson (1,249); 2. Joe Martin (1,237); 3. Jeremy Wonderling (1,199); 4. Matt Latta (1,141); 5. Brady Wonderling (1,136).
Current weather: Overcast, 54°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Michael Duritsky
Time: 19.040 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Lukon
Dash winner: Kyle Lukon
Heat race winners: Michael Duritsky, Cole Petrelle, Jeremy Wonderling, Ben Policz
Consolation race winners: Dave Goble, Dan Lepro
Provisional starters: Matt Latta, Philip Bubeck
Next series race: October 14, Lernerville Speedway (Sarver, PA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Lukon, Policz
Row 2: Martin, Duritsky
Row 3: Chance, Petrelle
Row 4: Norris, J. Wonderling
Row 5: Frazee, Musolino
Row 6: Burgoon, Gunn
Row 7: Reft, Scott
Row 8: Shaffer, Dillinger
Row 9: B. Wonderling, Hill
Row 10: Lee, Graham
Row 11: Goble, Lepro
Row 12: Paugh, Klein
Row 13: Latta, Bubeck
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728