Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 01:25:38

Sponsor 743
July 16
Wythe Raceway,
Rural Retreat, VA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Southern Nationals - $10,053
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden and series reports (last updated July 17, 8:10 am)
Ninth-starting McDowell wins Wythe's $10,053
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Michael Brown
  4. Vic Hill
  5. Camaron Marlar
  6. Matthew Nance
  7. John Henderson
  8. Will Roland
  9. Ross Bailes
  10. Parker Martin
  11. Tim Vance
  12. Ashton Winger
  13. Kenny Collins
  14. Mason Zeigler
  15. Clay Coghlan
  16. Brenden Smith
  17. Zack Mitchell
  18. Forrest Trent
  19. Travis Greer
  20. Jensen Ford
  21. Dalton Cook
  22. Carson Ferguson
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
The Shane McDowell Racing team in victory lane at Wythe.
What won the race: Ninth-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., powered past Cory Hedgecock in turn one on the 37th lap Saturday and led the rest of the 53-lap Schaeffer's Southern Nationals feature at Wythe Raceway. McDowell took the checkers 2.808 seconds ahead of Hedgecock while first-half race leader Vic Hill faded to finish fourth.
Quotable: "We really kind of gave up — or I didn't give up — but we really was lost and didn't know exactly what to do," McDowell said. "We made some mistakes in the heat and was a little bit off qualifying. And so (Dale's brother) Shane (McDowell) kept digging, kept digging, kept digging, and made some adjustments, and the car drove right up through there so it was really good."
Key notes: McDowell earned his eighth career series victory. His previous triumph came in last season's finale at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. (where the series heads Sunday). ... Runner-up Cory Hedgecock, who led laps 30-36, was trying to become the first driver to win the first two series races since Chris Madden in '07. ... Third-finishing Vic Hill, who led the first 29 laps, was gunning for his fourth series victory at Wythe. ... The feature's most exciting moment came on the 30th lap when Hill bobbled exiting turn two. Hedgecock grabbed the lead down the backstretch and McDowell immediately dropped Hill to third. ... Nine drivers completed 53 laps. ... Four cautions slowed the action (Jensen Ford's left-front flat on the third lap; second-running Carson Ferguson's ignition failure on the second lap; a slowing Parker Martin on lap 16; and a slowing Kenny Collins on lap 44) ... Wythe hosted the series for the 15th time.
On the move: Winner Dale McDowell started ninth.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Shane McDowell Racing Team Zero Race Car has a Clements Chevrolet engine and sponsorship from E-Z-Go, Cometic Gaskets, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Connected Strategy Advisors, Fox Racing Shox, Waddell Transfer, ShearWorx, Shackelford Enterprizes, Spring Pro, Northeastern Fabrication and MSRMafia.com Marketing Services.
Points chase: After Wythe: 1. Cory Hedgecock (396); 2. Dale McDowell (388); 3. Will Roland (376); 4. Matthew Nance (372); 5. Michael Brown (370); 6. Camaron Marlar (370): 7. John Henderson (360); 8. Zack Mitchell (360); 9. Jensen Ford (356); 10. Ashton Winger (346).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Vic Hill
Time: 15.972 seconds
Polesitter: Vic Hill
Heat race winners: Vic Hill, Carson Ferguson, Michael Brown
Next series race: July 17, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $10,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff and series reports

RURAL RETREAT, Va. — Updates from Saturday's second round of the Schaeffer's Southern Nationals at Wythe Raceway, highlighted by a $10,053-to-win event for Super Late Models (results unofficial):


Ninth-starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., powered past Cory Hedgecock in turn one on the 37th lap Saturday and led the rest of the 53-lap Schaeffer's Southern Nationals at Wythe Raceway. McDowell took the checkers 2.808 seconds ahead of Hedgecock while first-half race leader Vic Hill faded to finish fourth.

Feature lineup

(53 laps)

Row 1: Vic Hill, Carson Ferguson
Row 2: Michael Brown, Will Roland
Row 3: Jensen Ford, Kenny Collins
Row 4: Cory Hedgecock, Camaron Marlar
Row 5: Dale McDowell, John Henderson
Row 6: Matthew Nance, Ashton Winger
Row 7: Clay Coghlan, Ross Bailes
Row 8: Zack Mitchell, Forrest Trent
Row 9: Parker Martin, Mason Zeigler
Row 10: Tim Vance, Travis Greer
Row 11: Brenden Smith, Dalton Cook

Heat race results

(Six laps; all transfer)

First heat: Vic Hill, Will Roland, Cory Hedgecock, John Henderson, Clay Coghlan, Forrest Trent, Tim Vance, Dalton Cook.

Second heat: Carson Ferguson, Jensen Ford, Camaron Marlar, Matthew Nance, Ross Bailes, Parker Martin, Travis Greer.

Third heat: Michael Brown, Kenny Collins, Dale McDowell, Ashton Winger, Zack Mitchell, Mason Zeigler, Brenden Smith.

Time trials

Driver (car no.), hometown

  1. Vic Hill (1), Mosheim, Tenn., 15.972
  2. Jensen Ford (83), Johnson City, Tenn., 16.070
  3. Michael Brown (24-D), Pageland, S.C., 16.071
  4. Will Roland (22), Jasper, Ga., 16.072
  5. Carson Ferguson (93), Lincolnton, N.C., 16.114
  6. Dale McDowell (17m), Chickamauga, Ga., 16.117
  7. Clay Coghlan (6), Pigeon Forge, Tenn., 16.156
  8. Camaron Marlar (99), Winfield, Tenn. , 16.157
  9. Kenny Collins (1c), Colbert, Ga., 16.209
  10. Cory Hedgecock (23), Loudon, Tenn., 16.214
  11. Matthew Nance (2), Ronda, N.C., 16.233
  12. Zack Mitchell (57), Enoree, S.C., 16.235
  13. John Henderson (2x), North Augusta, S.C., 16.242
  14. Ross Bailes (79), Clover, S.C., 16.253
  15. Ashton Winger (22), Hampton, Ga., 16.266
  16. Forrest Trent (101), Morristown, Tenn., 16.342
  17. Parker Martin (6jr), Milledgeville, Ga., 16.538
  18. Mason Zeigler (9z), Chalk Hill, Pa., 16.832
  19. Tim Vance (17T), Clover, S.C., 16.851
  20. Travis Greer (11G), Marion, Va., 17.040
  21. Brenden Smith (17ss), Dade City, Fla., 17.339
  22. Dalton Cook (44D), Smiths Station, Ala., 17.357

Saturday's schedule

(All times local)

6:30 p.m. - Drivers' meeting
7 p.m. - On-track activity
- Super Late Model hot laps
- Pro mini hot laps
- Modified hot laps
- K-car hot laps
- Super street hot laps
- Super Late Model time trials (2 laps)
- U-car hot laps
- Pro mini feature (15 laps)
- Super Late Model heats (6 laps)
- Super street feature (20 laps)
- U-car feature (15 laps)
- Super Late Model feature (53 laps)
- Modified feature (20 laps)
- K-car feature (10 laps)

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hill, Ca. Ferguson
Row 2: Brown, Roland
Row 3: Ford, Collins
Row 4: Hedgecock, C. Marlar
Row 5: McDowell, Henderson
Row 6: Nance, Winger
Row 7: Coghlan, Bailes
Row 8: Mitchell, Trent
Row 9: Martin, Zeigler
Row 10: Vance, Greer
Row 11: B. Smith, D. Cook

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information