Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/30/2024 05:02:16

Sponsor 743
July 13
Montpelier Motor Speedway,
Montpelier, IN
Sanction: DIRTcar Summer Nationals - $5,000
Information provided by: Bryan Ault and series reports (last updated July 15, 12:54 am)
Pierce storms to sixth Hell Tour win at Montpelier
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Devin Moran
  3. Billy Moyer Jr.
  4. Devin Shiels
  5. Payton Freeman
  6. Chad Finley
  7. Eric Spangler
  8. Jeremy Creech
  9. Joe Godsey
  10. Tristan Chamberlain
  11. Brenden Smith
  12. Bradley Jameson
  13. Rusty Smith
  14. Mark Voigt
  15. Mick Quin
  16. Rusty Schlenk
  17. Thomas Hunziker
  18. Paul Stubber
  19. Jeff Roth
  20. Colin Shipley
  21. Jerry Bowersock
  22. Rusty Griffaw
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Bobby Pierce (32) overtakes Devin Moran (9) en route to victory.
What won the race: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., stormed past outside polesitter Devin Moran in traffic to lead the final 13 laps for his sixth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season Wednesday at Montpelier (Ind.) Motor Speedway. Pierce, who earned $5,000 on the night, notched his 46th career tour victory.
Quotable: "I was talking with some people up in the stands, that I didn't think the bottom would come in. But it shocked me, and it did," Pierce said. "It's a really good racetrack. I know it was a lot of fun. Even though I passed Devin, I know he had fun. We were talking about it before the race: we talked about how fun this place can really be if it got racy. Huge thanks to everybody that helps me out."
Key notes: Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, started outside the front row and led the first 27 circuits of the 40-lap feature around the quarter-mile, which hosted the Hell Tour for the first time. ... Polesitter Joe Godsey of Edinburgh, Ind., backslid to finish ninth. ... Montpelier marked the 19th race on the tour that has enjoyed two days off. ... Overall the tour has had five races cancelled and two postponed by rain. ... The quarter-mile Montpelier oval has hosted racing as far back as 1930. ... Watch live at DIRTVision.com.
On the move: Bradley Jameson of Royal Center, Ind., started 21st and finished 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Rio Grande Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Extreme Electric, Toyota of Danville, Quality Paint & Body, Base Racing Fuels, Senior Life Insurance and the Vermilion County Bobcats.
Points chase: After Montpelier: 1. Bobby Pierce (1,272); 2. Brian Shirley (1,025); 3. Jason Feger (1,020); 4. Payton Freeman (935); 5. Joe Godsey (867); 6. Ryan Unzicker (717); 7. Mark Voigt (695) 8. Shannon Babb (617); T9. Billy Moyer Jr. (606); T9. Jeff Roth (606).
Current weather: Clear, 70°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Billy Moyer Jr.
Time: 13.731 seconds
Polesitter: Joe Godsey
Heat race winners: Payton Freeman, Devin Moran, Joe Godsey
Consolation race winners: Colin Shipley
Provisional starters: Mick Quin, Mark Voigt, Rusty Griffaw, Bradley Jameson
Next series race: July 15, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From series reports

MONTPELIER, Ind. — Updates from Wednesday's 19th round of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Montpelier Motor Speedway, highlighted by a $5,000-to-win event for Super Late Models (results unofficial):


Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., stormed past outside polesitter Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, in traffic to lead the final 13 laps for his sixth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of the season Wednesday at Montpelier (Ind.) Motor Speedway. Pierce, who earned $5,000 on the night, notched career Hell Tour win No. 46. Runner-up Moran started from the outside pole and led the first 27 circuits of the 40-lap feature. Moran is set to finish the week on the Hell Tour. Polesitter Joe Godsey of Edinburgh, Ind., backslid to finish ninth. The race was slowed by four cautions, with Rusty Schlenk's spin serving as the final yellow on lap 35.

Feature lineup

40 laps
Row 1: Joe Godsey, Devin Moran
Row 2: Payton Freeman, Billy Moyer Jr.
Row 3: Bobby Pierce, Jeremy Creech
Row 4: Devin Shiels, Chad Finley
Row 5: Paul Stubber, Eric Spangler
Row 6: Rusty Schlenk, Brenden Smith
Row 7: Jeff Roth, Tristan Chamberlain
Row 8: Jerry Bowersock, Colin Shipley
Row 9: Rusty Smith, Mick Quin
Row 10: Mark Voigt, Rusty Griffaw
Row 11: Bradley Jameson, Thomas Hunziker

Consolation race results

(10 laps; top three transfer)

Consolation: Colin Shipley, Rusty Smith, Thomas Hunziker, Bradley Jameson, Drew Smith, Jeff Robertson, Mick Quin, Daniel Hopper, Josh Robertson, Rich Dawson, Mark Voigt, Rusty Griffaw, Dan Richardson, Troy Worrick.

Heat race results

(10 laps; top five transfer)

First heat: Payton Freeman, Billy Moyer Jr., Devin Shiels, Eric Spangler, Jeff Roth, Colin Shipley, Josh Robertson, Mick Quin, Mark Voigt, Bradley Jameson.

Second heat: Devin Moran, Bobby Pierce, Chad Finley, Rusty Schlenk, Tristan Chamberlain, Rusty Smith, Drew Smith, Rusty Griffaw, Troy Worrick, Daniel Hopper.

Third heat: Joe Godsey, Jeremy Creech, Paul Stubber, Jerry Bowersock, Thomas Hunziker, Jeff Robertson, Brenden Smith, Rich Dawson, Dan Richardson.

Time trials

(Heats start straightup by qualifying times)

Driver (car no.), hometown, time (unofficial)
First group
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.731
Payton Freeman (F1), Commerce, Ga., 14.126
Eric Spangler (27), Lake City, Mich., 14.200
Devin Shiels (51S), Britton, Mich., 14.432
Colin Shipley (44), Weston, Ohio, 14.679
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 15.030
Bradley Jameson (757), Royal Center, Ind.. 15.160
Jeff Roth (14R), Bentonville, Ark., 15.323
Mick Quin (23NZ), Hawks Bay, N.Z., 15.483
Josh Robertson (P3), Defiance, Ohio, 16.072
Second group
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 14.041
Devin Moran (9), Dresden, Ohio, 14.062
Rusty Schlenk (1), McClure, Ohio, 14.287
Chad Finley (42), East Lansing, Mich., 14.659
Rusty Griffaw (16), Festus, Mo., 14.731
Troy Worrick (79), Marian, Ind., 14.804
Drew Smith (71DS), Sylvania, Ohio, 15.242
Rusty Smith (71), Sylvania, Ohio, 15.703
Daniel Hopper (41), Peru, Ind., 16.524
Third group
Joe Godsey (14G), Edinburgh, Ind., 15.742
Brenden Smith (17SS), Dade City, Fla., 16.094
Jeremy Creech (17), Richmond, Ind., 16.126
Rich Dawson (80), Lowell, Ind., 16.531
Jerry Bowersock (95j), Wapakoneta, Ohio, 16.700
Paul Stubber (31aus), Bunbury, Australia, 16.986
Dan Richardson (8), Macy, Ind., 20.187
Thomas Hunziker (38), Bend, Ore., 21.406
Jeff Robertson (P3), Defiance, Ohio, no time

Rain delay

A rain shower that swept over the quarter-mile halted on-track activities from 7:20 to 9:45 p.m. with three cars left in DIRTcar Summer Nationals group three qualifying. DIRTcar officials decided to restart the third and final group of qualifying upon program resumption.

Wednesday's schedule

(All times local)

5:30 p.m. - Drivers' meeting
6 p.m. - On-track activity
- Late Model hot laps
- Modified hot laps/time trials
- Late Model time trials (2 laps)
Opening ceremonies
- Modified heats (8 laps)
- Late Model heats (10 laps)
- Modified consolation (10 laps if necessary)
- Late Model conslolation (10 laps if necessary)
Feature events
- Modifieds (25 laps)
- Late Models (40 laps)

Feature lineup

Row 1: Godsey, Moran
Row 2: Freeman, Moyer
Row 3: Pierce, Creech
Row 4: Shiels, Finley
Row 5: Stubber, Spangler
Row 6: Schlenk, B. Smith
Row 7: Roth, Chamberlain
Row 8: Bowersock, Shipley
Row 9: R. Smith, Quin
Row 10: Voigt, Griffaw
Row 11: Jameson, Hunziker

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information