Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 19:43:31

Sponsor 743
May 5
Mississippi Thunder Speedway,
Fountain City, WI
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Dairyland Showdown) - $10,000
Information provided by: Kevin Kovac and staff reports (last updated May 7, 9:10 am)
Pierce captures opener at Dairyland Showdown
Dairyland Showdown
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Stormy Scott
  3. Mike Marlar
  4. Cade Dillard
  5. Tyler Bruening
  6. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  7. Dennis Erb Jr.
  8. Chris Simpson
  9. Chase Junghans
  10. Ryan Gustin
  11. Garrett Alberson
  12. Josh Richards
  13. Tanner English
  14. Brent Larson
  15. Max Blair
  16. Chad Mahder
  17. Boom Briggs
  18. Jesse Glenz
  19. Gordy Gundaker
  20. Kyle Hammer
  21. Jonathan Davenport
  22. James Giossi
  23. Shannon Babb
  24. Jimmy Mars
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphotography.com
Bobby Pierce takes the checkers on opening night of the Dairyland Showdown.
What won the race: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., led all 40 laps at Mississippi Thunder Speedway to score a $10,000 World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series victory on opening night of the Dairyland Showdown.
Quotable: “It’s a good start to the weekend,” Pierce said. “Everyone looks at these top series, so if you win one of them it’s great prestige. Hopefully we can just do it again when it’s 50-grand Saturday.”
Key notes: Pierce earned his third career WoO victory, his first with the series since May 1, 2021. ... Stormy Scott of Las Cruces, N.M. started fourth and finished second, 2.071 seconds behind Pierce. ... Second-starting Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, finished 10th. ... Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., was slated to start sixth but pulled off the track prior to the green flag when his brakes malfunctioned. ... Seventeen starters completed all 40 laps of the feature, which was slowed by two cautions (laps 11 and 22). ... Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., was disqualified from his apparent heat win because his rear deck height exceeded the maximum allowance by 1 inch. He transferred through a consolation race and retired from the feature in 21st just past halfway. ... Series points leader Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., lowered the track record in time trials with a lap of 13.441 seconds.
On the move: Cade Dillard of Robeline, La., started ninth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Rio Grande Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Extreme Electric, Toyota of Danville, Quality Paint & Body, Base Racing Fuels, Senior Life Insurance and the Vermilion County Bobcats.
Points chase: After Thursday: 1. Dennis Erb Jr. (1,766); 2. Max Blair (1,712); 3. Tyler Bruening (1,660); 4; Tanner English (1,648); 5. Josh Richards (1,542).; T6. Kyle Hammer (1,534); T6. Brent Larson (1,534); 8. Ryan Gustin (1,532); 9. Gordy Gundaker (1,502); 10. Boom Briggs (1,498).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 38
Fast qualifier: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time: 13.441 seconds
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Mike Marlar, Stormy Scott, Ryan Gustin, Bobby Pierce
Consolation race winners: Brent Larson, Garrett Alberson
Provisional starters: Kyle Hammer, Jesse Glenz
Next series race: May 7, Mississippi Thunder Speedway (Fountain City, WI) $50,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pierce, Gustin
Row 2: Marlar, Scott
Row 3: Bruening, Mars
Row 4: Heckenast Jr., Erb Jr.
Row 5: Dillard, Junghans
Row 6: Blair, Simpson
Row 7: Richards, English
Row 8: Giossi, Gundaker
Row 9: Larson, Alberson
Row 10: Mahder, Davenport
Row 11: Briggs, Babb
Row 12: Hammer, Glenz

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information