Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 23:24:06

Sponsor 743
January 8
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Ice Bowl XXXI) - $6,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated January 14, 3:25 pm)
Page survives, captures sixth straight Ice Bowl
Ice Bowl XXXI
  1. Michael Page
  2. Christian Hanger
  3. Chase Oliver
  4. Dillon Tidmore
  5. Dallas Cooper
  6. Austin Horton
  7. Dillon Crim
  8. Dylan Knowles
  9. Sam Seawright
  10. Kirk Baker
  11. Luke Hoffner
  12. Ellery Leake
  13. Rucker Orr
  14. Dewayne Kiefer
  15. Chad Duncan
  16. Scott Crigler
  17. Tim Roszell
  18. Ryan Wilson
  19. John Ownbey
  20. Tanner Collins
  21. Chris Jones
  22. Dalton Polston
  23. Andy Picklesimer
  24. Pierce McCarter
presented by
Josh James/joshjamesartwork.com
A tearful Michael Page after his sixth straight Ice Bowl victory.
What won the race: Surviving two restart-requiring collisions on the first lap, Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., led all 50 laps Saturday evening at Talladega Short Track to capture his unprecedented sixth straight Ice Bowl victory. Page, his car showing damage from the incidents, earned $6,000 in the caution-plagued 31st annual Super Late Model 50-lapper that lasted more than 50 minutes.
Quotable: "I just wish my dad was here with me," a tearful Page said in victory lane (his father died in late November), thanking his crew. "I don't know (the car) kept going (after the early scrapes). I figured it was done. But somehow it just kept going."
Key notes: The unbeatable Page denied competitors a $1,500 bounty posted by the track. ... He's driven the same car to all six victories. ... Runner-up Christian Hanger made an outside bid with four laps remaining, pulling briefly alongside Page in turn four before dropping back. ... Hanger was 2.260 seconds back at the finish. ... Fifth-running Tim Roszell spun on lap 47 with a flat left-rear tire. ... Polesitter Austin Horton pitted on the ninth lap with a flat right-front tire while running second. ... John Ownbey slowed for a lap-30 yellow. ... Three cautions appeared on the ninth lap (for a pair of turn-four tangles and then a spin by third-running Chris Jones). ... Andy Picklesimer spun in turn three on lap seven ... A dozen cars were involved in a mess between turns one and two on the first lap, triggered by contact among the frontrunners, including Page and outside front-row starter Pierce McCarter, who retired. ... Page, trying to edge ahead of Horton, spun on the next restart for turn-two wreck involving a half-dozen cars, including Tim Roszell's car elevated between the cars of Page and Tanner Collins. ... Duncan went over the turn-three banking on the initial start.
On the move: Dillon Tidmore of Glencoe, Ala., started 17th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Page’s Stinger Race Car is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Baird Sales & Rentals, Baird Truck & Trailer Sales, Cove 2 Coast Marine, National Transportation Insurance Specialists, Schaeffer’s Oil and T&T Trucking.
Points chase: Tim Roszell of Anniston, Ala., is the track's reigning Super Late Model champion.
Current weather: Clear, 57°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Pierce McCarter
Time: 14.746 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Horton
Heat race winners: Austin Horton, Christian Hanger, Pierce McCarter, Michael Page
Consolation race winners: Dillon Tidmore, Tanner Collins
Editor's note: Officials on Jan. 14 announced Michael Page’s disqualification because one of two tire samples failed to meet manufacturer benchmarks in lab tests.
From track reports

EASTABOGA, Ala. — Updates from Talladega Short Track's Ice Bowl, a $6,000-to-win winter event for Super Late Models at the third-mile oval (results unofficial):

Saturday's main event

Surviving two restart-requiring collisions on the first lap, Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., led all 50 laps Saturday evening at Talladega Short Track to capture his unprecedented sixth straight Ice Bowl victory. Page, his car showing damage from the incidents, earned $6,000 in the 31st annual Super Late Model event.

Saturday's consolation results

(12 laps; top four transfer)

First consolation: Dillon Tidmore, Kirk Baker, Rucker Orr, Ryan Wilson, Eric Hohol, Jamie Oliver. Scratched: Benjamin Cranford.

Second consolation: Tanner Collins, Chad Duncan, Dewayne Kiefer, Ellery Leake, Justin Owens, Kyle Bryant. Scratched: Jerry Hendrix.

Friday's heat results

(10 laps; top four transfer)

First heat: Austin Horton, Chase Oliver, Sam Seawright, Scott Crigler, Dillon Tidmore, Kirk Baker, Ryan Wilson. Scratched: Benjamin Cranford.

Second heat: Christian Hanger, Dillon Crim, John Ownbey, Luke Hoffner, Eric Hohol, Rucker Orr, Jamie Oliver.

Third heat: Pierce McCarter, Chris Jones, Dalton Polston, Tim Roszell, Ellery Leake, Justin Owens, Kyle Bryant, Jerry Hendrix.

Fourth heat: Michael Page, Dylan Knowles, Dallas Cooper, Andy Picklesimer, Chad Duncan, Tanner Collins, Dewayne Kiefer.

Friday's time trials

First group
Driver (car no.), hometown, time

  1. Austin Horton (16), Newnan, Ga., 14.881
  2. Christian Hanger (15), Winchester, Tenn., 14.975
  3. Chase Oliver (5), Rainbow City, Ala., 14.998
  4. Dillon Crim (7c), Eastaboga, Ala., 15.161
  5. Scott Crigler (12), Alton, Mo., 15.186
  6. John Ownbey (0), Cleveland, Tenn., 15.188
  7. Sam Seawright (16), Rainsville, Ala., 15.241
  8. Luke Hoffner (15), Turbotville, Pa., 15.255
  9. Dillon Tidmore (35T), Glencoe, Ala., 15.256
  10. Eric Hohol (H22), East Waterford, Pa., 15.532
  11. Kirk Baker (11), Hustontown, Pa., 15.582
  12. Rucker Orr (56), Newnan, Ga., 15.600
  13. Ryan Wilson (4), Margaret, Ala., 15.601
  14. Jamie Oliver (38), Murphy, N.C., 15.720
  15. Benjamin Cranford (93), Thomson, Ga., 15.819

Second group

  1. Pierce McCarter (71), Gatlinburg, Tenn., 14.756
  2. Michael Page (18x), Douglasville, Ga., 14.940
  3. Chris Jones (46), Alabaster, Ala., 15.086
  4. Jerry Hendrix (14), Chattanooga, Tenn., 15.087
  5. Dylan Knowles (66k), Lanett, Ala., 15.087
  6. Dallas Cooper (35), Talladega, Ala., 15.100
  7. Dalton Polston (00), Douglasville, Ga., 15.236
  8. Andy Picklesimer (P1), Ooltewah, Tenn., 15.274
  9. Tim Roszell (25), Anniston, Ala., 15.316
  10. Chad Duncan (707), Newnan, Ga., 15.324
  11. Ellery Leake (34), Knoxville, Tenn., 15.343
  12. Tanner Collins (24), Franklin, Ga., 15.434
  13. Justin Owens (26), Chattanooga, Tenn., 15.461
  14. Dewayne Kiefer (0), St. Genevieve, Mo., 15.548
  15. Kyle Bryant (85), Navarre, Fla., 15.879


Feature lineup

Row 1: Horton, P. McCarter
Row 2: Hanger, Page
Row 3: Oliver, Jones
Row 4: Crim, D. Knowles
Row 5: Seawright, Polston
Row 6: Ownbey, Cooper
Row 7: Sc. Crigler, Roszell
Row 8: Hoffner, Picklesimer
Row 9: Tidmore, Collins
Row 10: Baker, Duncan
Row 11: Orr, Kiefer
Row 12: Wilson, Leake

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information