Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 09:18:02

Sponsor 743
June 19
Portsmouth Raceway Park,
Portsmouth, OH
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Charlie Swartz Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff and track reports (last updated June 21, 12:43 pm)
Josh Bocook grabs career-high $5,000 at PRP
Charlie Swartz Classic
  1. Josh Bocook
  2. Kody Evans
  3. R.J. Conley
  4. David Webb
  5. Rod Conley
  6. Kirk Phillips
  7. Brandon Fouts
  8. Mike Hildebrand
  9. Josh Hall
  10. Austyn Mills
  11. James Rice
  12. Richie Edwards
  13. Audie Swartz
  14. Mike Meyers
  15. Steve Casebolt
  16. Shannon Thornsberry
  17. Todd Brennan
  18. Tyler Carpenter
  19. Nick Bocook
  20. Dave Hornikel
  21. Billy Staker
  22. Kevin Wagner
presented by
Tyler Carr
Josh Bocook emerges from his car after his $5,000 victory.
What won the race: Taking advantage of a miscue by polesitter Kody Evans, fifth-starting Josh Bocook of Wheelersburg, Ohio, took command on the 22nd lap and led the rest of Saturday's 40-lapper at Portsmouth Raceway Park for a career-high $5,000 victory. Bocook's Charlie Swartz Classic victory was his first at PRP in two seasons.
Quotable: "Man, I don't know what the hell's going, I've sucked the last couple of weeks," Bocook said. "The car was freaking great tonight."
Key notes: The 39-year-old Bocook, the 2017 PRP champ, notched his first Portsmouth victory since June 1, 2019. ... Bocook went by at the top of the backstretch when Kody Evans got too high exiting turn two. ... Three yellows on lap 14 slowed the action, including when Josh Hall and Todd Brennan tangled on the frontstretch. ... Kevin Wagner was eliminated in a first-lap scramble. ... Nathon Loney was scheduled to start sixth, but engine problems in the dash ended his night; Audie Swartz was added as an alternate starter. ... Tyler Carpenter smashed the turn-four wall in time trials and won his heat race missing a right rear quarterpanel. Carpenter retired on lap 14 of the main event. ... The Super Late Model special was shifted to Saturday’s program after Friday’s $3,000-to-win Charlie Swartz Classic was rained out. … The purse was boosted to $5,000-to-win with Super Late Models joining Saturday’s card with the FloRacing All Star Circuit of Champions sprints' Dean Knittel Memorial, the Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale. … The Late Model portion of the program paid tribute to Hall of Fame racer Charlie Swartz, winner of the World 100 and other major events.
Winner's sponsors: Josh Bocook’s Swartz Race Car is sponsored by Caudill’s Auto Sales, Frank's Place, Worthington Signs, McDonald’s and Hall’s Auto Parts.
Points chase: Entering the event, Brandon Fouts of Kite, Ky., led Portsmouth’s weekly standings with 215 points over Mike Hildebrand, Shannon Thornsberry and Nick Bocook (those three are tied with 195 points apiece).
Current weather: Overcast, 82°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Brandon Fouts
Time: 14.775 seconds
Polesitter: Kody Evans
Dash winner: Kody Evans
Heat race winners: Todd Brennan, Tyler Carpenter, Steve Casebolt, James Rice
Consolation race winners: Billy Staker, Mike Hildebrand
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Evans, Fouts
Row 2: R.J. Conley, Thornsberry
Row 3: J. Bocook, Loney
Row 4: Brennan, Carpenter
Row 5: Casebolt, Rice
Row 6: Rod Conley, Webb
Row 7: N. Bocook, Mills
Row 8: Hornikel, Meyers
Row 9: Hall, Phillips
Row 10: Staker, Hildebrand
Row 11: Wagner, Edwards

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information