Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/28/2024 00:29:58

Sponsor 743
May 31
Granite City Motor Park,
Sauk Rapids, MN
Sanction: Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series track and other reports (last updated June 3, 4:49 pm)
Massingill benefactor for first WCS victory
  1. Jeffrey Massingill
  2. John Kaanta
  3. Cole Searing
  4. Jake Redetzke
  5. Rick Hanestad
  6. Don Shaw
  7. Darrell Nelson
  8. Ryan Mikkelson
  9. Kevin Eder
  10. Dan Dowling
  11. Scott Lehn
  12. Dave Mass
  13. Shane Edginton
  14. Buddy Hanestad
  15. Clarence Washburn
  16. Pat Doar
  17. Steve Laursen
  18. Bryce Sward
  19. Pat Kelley
  20. Travis Budisalovich
presented by
What won the race: Benefitting from frontrunners falling by the wayside, Jeffrey Massingill of Keewatin, Minn., captured his first career Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series victory Monday at Granite City Motor Park. The sixth-starting Massingill earned $3,000 in leading the final three laps to take the checkers 1.432 seconds ahead of John Kaanta while polesitter Cole Searing, who led the first seven laps, was third.
Key notes: Massingill notched his third victory overall in 2021; he won weekly events at I-94 Sure Step Speedway and Halvor Lines Speedway. ... Travis Budisalovich took the lead from Cole Searing on the eighth lap and was leading with three laps remaining when he and second-running Dave Mass were caught up in a mess with a lapped car. Mass was tagged with the caution and elected to retire. Because members of Budisalovich's team yelled at track officials dring the cleanup, he was disqualified for team misbehavior, according to WISSOTA's Carson Gramm, adding the series has a "zero tolerance" policy for misconduct. ... Massingill inherited the lead for the final restart. ... Cautions on laps 20, 25 and 37 slowed the feature. ... Dustin Johanneck scratched from the main event. ... The Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series wrapped up a three-day weekend with Monday’s $2,000-to-win show at Granite City, which first hosted the series in 2015 (Don Shaw won that event). … The series opened its season Friday with Darrell Nelson winning at Princeton (Minn.) Speedway and Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., winning at Rice Lake (Wis.) Speedway.
On the move: Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., started ninth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: The Massingill Brothers Motorsports Kryptonite Race Car is powered by a Tesar Engineering Racing Engine and sponsored by JR Motorsports, J&C Properties, Trent Signs & Graphics, Fox Shocks and #DirtTrackHustle.
Points chase: After Granite City: 1. John Kaanta (214); 2. Darrell Nelson (211); 3. Jeffrey Massingill (208).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Cole Searing
Heat race winners: Dave Mass, Kevin Eder, John Kaanta
Next series race: June 3, Dakota State Fair Speedway (Huron, SD) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects winning purse and winner's chassis manufacturer; updates with Budisalovich's disqualification and details from Carson Gramm.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Searing, Budisalovich
Row 2: Kaanta, Mass
Row 3: B. Hanestad, Massingill
Row 4: Eder, Doar
Row 5: Redetzke, R. Hanestad
Row 6: Sward, Laursen
Row 7: Mikkelson, Shaw
Row 8: Nelson, Edginton
Row 9: Lehn, Johanneck
Row 10: Kelley, Washburn
Row 11: Dowling

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information