Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 04:15:13

Sponsor 743
April 25
West Virginia Motor Speedway,
Mineral Wells, WV
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Northern Series (The Return) - $8,000
Information provided by: Staff and series reports (last updated April 26, 11:04 am)
Amid tire issues, Davenport wins $8,000 at WVMS
The Return
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Devin Moran
  3. Drake Troutman
  4. Colton Flinner
  5. Ed Shuman
  6. Tyler Erb
  7. Richie Edwards
  8. Jason Salmons
  9. Freddie Carpenter
  10. Dustin Nobbe
  11. Tristan Chamberlain
  12. Pete Crum
  13. Tyler Carpenter
  14. Ted Nobbe
  15. Anthony Kinkade
presented by
Tyler Carr
Jonathan Davenport and the Double L Motorsports team at WVMS.
What won the race: In an eventful return at West Virginia Motor Speedway, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., held off polesitter Devin Moran in a green-white-checkered finish to pocket the $8,000 Valvoline Iron-Man Northern Series victory on Sunday evening. Davenport charged from fifth after pitting on lap 20 with a flat-right rear tire.
Quotable: “It was a hell of a race of attrition for sure. It’s like bullring racing on a superspeedway,” Davenport said. “There was flats and Tyler broke a left-rear hub or something, and there was a header laying there on the racetrack over there, and my shield was coming off and I was trying to knock it back on. My eyes were full of dirt. It was a helluva show from where I was sitting."
Key notes: Davenport was forced to start the feature in ninth after suffering a flat left-rear tire while leading his heat race. .... He pocketed $500 in time trials for lowering the track record. ... Polesitter Devin Moran led the first 20 circuits but was forced to pit on lap 20 with a flat left-rear tire while Davenport also pitting on lap 20 to replace a tire. ... Tyler Erb inherited the top spot and was leading on the final circuit when his left-rear tire broke loose. ... WVMS reopened for the first time since 2013. Track promoter Cody Watson has spent the better part of the last year restoring the track to its original 5/8-mile configuration. … Derick Quade of Mechanicsville, Md., earned $2,000 for winning the Steel Block Late Model Series feature. … The series returns to the Mineral Wells, W.Va., oval on Oct. 8-9.
On the move: Winner Jonathan Davenport started ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport’s Double L Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, Lucas Oil, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Center Point Graphics, Midwest Sheet Metal and Fatheadz Eyewear.
Current weather: Clear, 63°F
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Jonathan Davenport
Time: 18.520 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Moran
Heat race winners: Devin Moran, Colton Flinner
Next series race: May 7, Atomic Speedway (Alma, OH) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, Flinner
Row 2: Erb, D. Nobbe
Row 3: Chamberlain, Troutman
Row 4: F. Carpenter, Kinkade
Row 5: Davenport, Shuman
Row 6: Crum, T. Nobbe
Row 7: T. Carpenter, Edwards
Row 8: Hawkins, Arthur
Row 9: Salmons, Conley
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information