Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 06:21:44

Sponsor 743
August 7
Ponderosa Speedway,
Junction City, KY
Sanction: Schaeffer's Iron-Man Series (Pete Abell Memorial ) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 8, 10:10 am)
Davenport captures Pete Abell Memorial
Pete Abell Memorial
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Tanner English
  3. Jacob Hawkins
  4. Zack Dohm
  5. Michael Chilton
  6. Camaron Marlar
  7. Kody Evans
  8. Ryan King
  9. Justin Rattliff
  10. Glen Hounshell
  11. Joey Standridge
  12. Scott James
  13. Dakotah Knuckles
  14. Larry Greer
  15. Tommy Carlton
  16. Mike Simpson
  17. Josh Rice
  18. Clay Coghlan
  19. P.J. Simpson
  20. Tripp Gerrald
presented by
Ryan Roberts
Jonathan Davenport captures his first career Schaeffer's Iron-Man victory.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps from his outside front row starting spot, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., captured Friday's $4,000-to-win Pete Abell Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway. Davenport finished 0.749 seconds ahead of fourth-starting Tanner English in winning his first career Schaeffer's Iron-Man Series event.
Key notes: Davenport and runner-up Tanner English of Benton, Ky., set a blistering pace at the front of the field. ... English kept Davenport within striking distance but the leader never made a mistake for English to capitalize. ... Six of the 20 starters completed all 40 circuits. ... Polesitter Scott James of Bright, Ind., completed 35 laps, finishing 12th. ... Series leader Ryan King of Seymour, Tenn., started ninth and finished eighth. ... English set a new track record during time trials with a time of 12.280 seconds. Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., was the track record holder. ... The race honored the late racer from central Kentucky who was a regular competitor at Ponderosa Speedway and other area tracks.
On the move: Joey Standridge of Tellico Plains, Tenn., started 18th and finished 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport’s Double L Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, Lucas Oil, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Ryan King (358 points) of Seymour, Tenn., led Michael Chilton (324), David Payne (306), Dakotah Knuckles (275) and Jake Knowles (270).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Tanner English
Time: 12.280 seconds
Polesitter: Scott James
Heat race winners: Scott James, Jonathan Davenport
Next series race: August 8, Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, TN) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects finishers 3-20; corrects 17th-place finisher to Josh Rice sted James Rice.

Feature lineup

Row 1: James, Davenport
Row 2: Marlar, English
Row 3: Knuckles, Rice
Row 4: Evans, Dohm
Row 5: King, Hawkins
Row 6: Rattliff, Chilton
Row 7: Greer, Carlton
Row 8: Hounshell, Gerrald
Row 9: P.J. Simpson, Standridge
Row 10: Coghlan, M. Simpson 

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information