Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/09/2023 17:43:06

Sponsor 743
August 23
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Yankee Dirt Classic) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 25, 12:40 am)
Kay tops Brothers Simpson in Yankee finale
Yankee Dirt Classic
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Chris Simpson
  4. Andy Eckrich
  5. Jeremiah Hurst
  6. Chad Holladay
  7. Bill Leighton Jr.
  8. Tad Pospisil
  9. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  10. Tyler Bruening
  11. Andrew Kosiski
  12. Jeff Tharp
  13. Matt Ryan
  14. Jeremy Grady
  15. Lyle Klein
  16. Ben Schaller
  17. Kyle Hinrichs
  18. Curt Schroeder
  19. Josh Leonard
  20. Jason Hahne
  21. Charlie McKenna
  22. Corey Zeitner
  23. Curt Martin
  24. Jeff Aikey
  25. Ryan Griffith
  26. Jason Rauen
  27. Joel Callahan
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Justin Kay (right) is congratulated on his $12,000 Yankee Dirt Classic triumph.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead after polesitter Chris Simpson's transmission jumped out of gear, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, held off Chad and Chris Simpson in the closing laps to capture the Yankee Dirt Classic finale at 300 Raceway. Recording his second career Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series victory, Kay pocketed $12,000.
On the move: Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, started 12th and finished second, while Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, started 16th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Peterson Insurance, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Wehrs Machine, Wheatland Auto Body and Mycogen Seeds.
Points chase: Heading into the weekend, Kyle Berck (1,476 points) of Marquette, Neb., led Ben Schaller (1,406), Bill Leighton (1,398), Josh Leonard (1,344) and Jason O’Brien (1,326).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 43
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Corey Zeitner, Chad Simpson, Bill Leighton Jr., Kyle Hinrichs
Consolation race winners: Ryan Griffith, Joel Callahan
Editor's note: Updates with details of Chris Simpson's mechanical issue.
From staff and series reports

FARLEY, Iowa (Aug. 23) — Justin Kay finale broke through in one his home state’s biggest Late Model events. Taking advantage of race-long leader Chris Simpson’s stumble with 20 laps remaining, Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, grabbed the lead on lap 30 and went on to win Friday’s 42nd annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic at Farley’s 300 Raceway for a $12,000 payday in the race sanctioned by the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series.

After taking the lead, Kay had to hold off Yankee Dirt Track Classic royalty to secure the win. He stayed just ahead of a charging Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, who started 12th, crossing the line a scant 0.365 of a second ahead of the driver who’s won the event four times, including three straight from 2009-’11.

Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, the defending race winner who won his first Yankee Dirt Track Classic in 2017 (the 2018 event was rained out) finished third after leading the first 30 laps from the pole, while sixth-starting Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, finished fourth, his best effort in the event since finishing third in 2009. Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, the 2008 winner, charged from 16th to complete the top five.

With the seventh-starting Kay five car lengths back in second, Chris Simpson appeared to have the race well in hand until his transmission jumped out of gear, causing him to suddenly slowed entering turn four as he headed to complete lap 30. Simpson rolled up the track as Kay darted by. As quickly as he slowed, Simpson put his car back in gear and took off again. But he’d lost both the lead to Kay and the second spot to his brother Chad Simpson and on a track that became bottom dominant over the second half of the 50-lapper, there was little he could do to regain the positions.

Looking for a record-tying fifth Yankee Dirt Track Classic victory, Chad Simpson closed to Kay’s rear deck with 10 laps remaining, but while he was able to close on the leader off of turn four and down the front stretch, Kay managed to put a couple of car lengths on the second-running Chad Simpson as they raced off of turn turn. He kept his bright orange No. 15k pinned to the low grove, avoided traffic and streaked to his second career Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series victory.

The top 10 finishers from Friday’s $5,000 preliminary feature were locked into Saturday’s main event. They went to a redraw and were split into two five-lap dashes, which were won by Chris Simpson and Charlie McKenna of Ames, Iowa. The rest of the starting lineup was determined by four heats, two consolation races and a last-chance race, which Jeremy Grady of Webster City, Iowa, won to earn the 27th and final starting spot.

Notes: After finishing in the top five of the historic event four times, it was Kay’s first Yankee Dirt Track Classic win. He finished third in both 2017 and 2015 and had fourth-place finishes in 2014 and 2012. … Sixteen of the 27 starters finished the race, all on the lead lap. … Kay’s previous Malvern Bank Series win came May 18, 2018 at Off Road Speedway in Norfolk, Neb. … Andy Eckrich’s fourth-place run was his best finish since 2009, when he placed third. Eckrich, who was also third in 2005, has four top-five finishes in the event. He was fifth in 2014. … The night ended early for Thursday winner Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, whose chance at back-to-back victories came to an end when contact with Charlie McKenna on a restart sent Aikey up the track and into the wall at the end of the front stretch. Aikey, who was running second at the time, finished 24th. … McKenna and Corey Zeitner of Omaha, Neb., had their night end on lap 22 when McKenna spun following contact from Chad Simpson and subsequently collected Zeitner. … Jason Rauen of Farely, was relegated to 26th after contact from Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, sent him in the infield wall on the back straightaway. … The race was sanctioned by the Malvern Bank Series for the first time after carrying IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series sanctioning from 2012-’17. … The Nebraska-based tour made its first-ever visit to 300 Raceway. … With neither Friday or Saturday points events, Malvern Bank Series points leader Kyle Berck was not in attendance. … Steve Kosiski of Papillion, Neb., leads all drivers with five Yankee Dirt Track Classic wins.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chr. Simpson, McKenna
Row 2: Holladay, Bruening
Row 3: Rauen, Eckrich
Row 4: Kay, Pospisil
Row 5: Aikey, Thornton Jr.
Row 6: Zeitner, Cha. Simpson
Row 7: Leighton, Hinrichs
Row 8: Martin, Hurst
Row 9: Ryan, Tharp
Row 10: Griffith, Callahan
Row 11: Leonard, Hahne
Row 12: Klein, A. Kosiski
Row 13: Schaller, Schroeder
Row 14: Grady

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information