Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bubba Raceway Park

Lloyd, Whitener big NLMS winners at Ocala

November 27, 2011, 4:01 pm
From track reports
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. takes the checkers. (rewingphotos.com)
Ivedent Lloyd Jr. takes the checkers. (rewingphotos.com)

OCALA, Fla. (Nov. 25-26) — Two of Florida's best Dirt Late Model racers enjoyed significant achievements Saturday night at Bubba Raceway Park.

Hometown driver Ivedent Lloyd Jr., dominated the Hedman Hussler National Late Model Series finale at Ocala for a $5,000 payday while Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., finished second to secure the season-long NLMS championship. | Slideshow

For Lloyd, it was his third hometown track championship — but first since 1993, his previous season-long run at the track — while Whitener collected his second straight touring championship and first on the NLMS tour. Whitener won last year's Ocala track title and a UDLMC touring crown.

Lloyd's performance in the 50-lapper was a no-doubter. He lapped everyone but Whitener and, before Bobby Richardson blew a tire and hit the turn-two wall on the 48th lap, was more than three-quarters of a lap ahead of his closest pursuer.

Jeff Mathews of Dover, Fla., was third while hometown driver Austin Kirkpatrick, who entered the event 15 points behind Whitener, was fourth. Former NLMS champion Jason Fitzgerald, crew chief for Bobby Labonte Motorsports driver Earl Pearson Jr., rounded out the top five.

Rodney Wing of Meridian, Miss., making a rare Florida appearance, was sixth in the 22-car field.

NLMS @ Ocala: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Mark Whitener, (3) Jeff Mathews, (4) Austin Kirkpatrick, (5) Jason Fitzgerald, (6) Rodney Wing, (7) Hunter Peacock, (8) Dillon Wood, (9) Bo Allen, (10) Brandon DeWitt, (11) Mike Nasworthy, (12) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (13) Casey Barrow, (14) Darrell Padgett, (15) John Koller, (16) Wallace Peacock, (17) Roger Crouse, (18) Bobby Richardson, (19) Andy Cobb, (20) Travis Carter, (21) Doodle Pipken, (22) Tim Zackery.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728