Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Alabama Motor Speedway

Davenport rules East Alabama for $10,000

October 3, 2011, 7:25 pm
From track reports
Jonathan Davenport earned $10,000 for his second Alabama State Championship. (ronskinnerphotos.com)
Jonathan Davenport earned $10,000 for his second Alabama State Championship. (ronskinnerphotos.com)

PHENIX CITY, Ala. (Oct. 2) – Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., earned $10,000 Sunday for his second victory in the Super Late Model portion of East Alabama Motor Speedway’s Alabama State Championship.

Davenport, who also won the unsanctioned special event in 2009, topped chief rival Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., in the 75-lapper. Tony Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., was third followed by Jake Knowles also of Tyrone, in fourth. Tallahassee, Fla., driver Tyler Ivey topped time trials during preliminary action Saturday night and was fifth in the final rundown Sunday. | Slideshow

Vic Hill of Mosheim, Tenn., was the apparent runner-up finisher, but was disqualified after he was found to have used illegal tires during post-race technical inspection.

With East Alabama set to host the $25,000-to-win National 100 Nov. 10-13, Davenport’s victory sets him up for a possible sweep of the track’s two late-season major events, a feat he pulled off in 2009.

Notes: Davenport's Barry Wright Race Cars house car is sponsored by Mega Plumbing, En Compass Solutions, Elite Concrete, Baird Transports, Nicholls Plumbing and JRI Shocks. ... Davenport’s 2009 victory paid $7,000. The event’s winner’s purse was raised to $10,000 this year. ... Ivey and fellow Floridian Ivedent Lloyd Jr. of Ocala, split $5,000 victories Sunday. Ivey won the event’s Crate Late Model feature, while Lloyd won the Limited Late Model division.

Alabama State Championship: (1) Jonathan Davenport, (2) Chris Madden, (3) Tony Knowles, (4) Jake Knowles, (5) Tyler Ivey, (6) Terrance Nowell, (7) Donald Bradsher, (8) Gar Dickson, (9) Richie Stephens, (10) Adam Giles, (11) Hunter Peacock, (12) Mike Nasworthy, (13) Benji Cole, (14) Aaron Ridley, (15) Jordy Nipper, (16) Riley Hickman, (17) Lee Sutton, (18) Brian Reese, (19) Jason Hiett, (20) Lavon Sparks, (21) Dennis Franklin, (22) William Thomas, (23) Clint Smith. Disqualified: Vic Hill.

Crate Late Model feature: (1) William Thomas, (2) Brandon Overton, (3) Chris Cantrell, (4) Larry Harrod, (5) Joey Thomas, (6) Jordy Nipper, (7) Craig Scott, (8) Tod Darda, (9) Tyler Millwood, (10) Thomas Lewis, (11) Chase Edge, (12) Russ Ogletree, (13) Paul Walters, (14) Rodgerick Dykes, (15) Joey Eiland, (16) Jonathan Davenport, (17) Jeff Smith, (18) Ivedent Lloyd, (19) Brian Ligon, (20) Pierce McCarter, (21) Chad Smith, (22) Eric Baggett, (23) Scott Knowles, (24) Dana Eiland.

Limited Late Model feature: (1) Ivedent Lloyd Jr., (2) Tyler Ivey, (3) William Thomas, (4) Montana Dudley, (5) Bobby Thomas, (6) David McCoy, (7) Mitch Fulford, (8) Oliver Gentry, (9) Clint Smith, (10) Mike Nasworthy, (11) Kenny Collins, (12) Pat Wall, (13) Michael Brewer, (14) Adam Giles, (15) Glenn Brewer, (16) Robbie Metts, (17) Ricky Culpepper, (18) Joe Armistead Jr., (19) Riley Hickman, (20) Steven Bloodworth, (21) Tod Hernandez, (22) Tony Head, (23) Keith Edge, (24) Jake Knowles.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728