Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunderhill Raceway

Putnam rules Thunderhill, grabs $4,000

September 25, 2011, 11:17 am
From correspondent reports
Josh Putnam heads for a $4,000 victory at Thunderhill. (photobyconnie.com)
Josh Putnam heads for a $4,000 victory at Thunderhill. (photobyconnie.com)

SUMMERTOWN, Tenn. (Sept. 24) — Choosing the outside front-row starting spot, fast qualifier Josh Putnam of Killen, Ala., led all 40 laps of the Topless Brawl on Saturday at Thunderhill Speedway for a $4,000 victory in the unsanctioned special event. | Slideshow

Putnam stayed on point through three cautions, rarely facing a challenge at the high-banked track in maintaining a comfortable lead.

Polesitter Chuck Proctor of Charlotte, Tenn., finished second followed by Tony Morris of Murfreesboro, Tenn., who fought off challenges from fourth-place finisher Corey Posey of Petersburg, Tenn. Mark Fields of Lewisburg, Tenn., rounded out the top five finishers.

Notes: Putnam’s Pierce Race Car is powered by a Burns Racing Engine with sponsorship from B&M Salvage, Nolan England Auto Parts, Wesley Threet Excavating, and Wise Metals Group. ... Rain delayed the action just before time trials ... The track was repacked and hot laps held again for each divisions. ... David Gentry won the Limited Late Model feature. ... In the Super Late Model feature, most of the passing came mid-pack. ... David Gentry gained five positions in finishing sixth. ... Eric Hickerson came from 23rd to 11th. ... After a few more late-season events, Thunderhill's fifth annual Christmas for Kids Race is scheduled for Nov. 19.

Topless Brawl: (1) Josh Putnam, (2) Chuck Proctor, (3) Tony Morris, (4) Corey Posey, (5) Mark Fields, (6) David Gentry, (7) Daniel Miller, (8) Brad Skinner, (9) Ben Kittrell, (10) David Brannon, (11) David Seibers, (12) Eric Hickerson, (13) Brad Glass, (14) Seth McCormack, (15) Steve Vann, (16) Michael Greer, (17) Donald Johns, (18) Steven Ashby, (19) Ben Davis, (20) Jeff Echols, (21) Jay Scott, (22) Seth Daniels, (23) Jimmy Nowlin, (24) William Burns, (25) Jeremy Taylor. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Putnam, 11.726 seconds. Heat race winners: Miller, Kittrell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728