Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Jacobsen capitalizes on slipup to win at Boyd's

September 17, 2011, 6:50 am
From series and correspondent reports
Eric Jacobsen heads to victory Friday at Boyd's Speedway. (photobyconnie.com)
Eric Jacobsen heads to victory Friday at Boyd's Speedway. (photobyconnie.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (Sept. 16) — Pouncing when race-long leader Riley Hickman slipped up on the 30th lap, Eric Jacobsen of Seacliff Beach, Calif., took a lead he'd never give up Friday at Boyd's Speedway to become the season's first repeat winner on the STARS Volunteer Racing Series. | Slideshow

Jacobsen, taking command down the backstretch after Hickman got too high exiting turn two, earned $3,000 for the victory at the track straddling the Tennessee-Georgia border near Chattanooga.

Hickman, of Soddy Daisy, Tenn., settled for second after starting outside the front row with Chip Brindle of Chatsworth, Ga., in third. Tenth-starting David Payne of Murphy, N.C., and 12th-starting Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., rounded out the top five.

Fast qualifier and polesitter Josh Putnam of Killen, Ala., who lowered the track record with his 13.010-second qualifying lap at the third-mile oval, ran second before departing with engine problems near the halfway point of the 40-lapper. Series points leader Ross White of Knoxville, Tenn., finished 17th after dropping out on lap 25.

Hickman darted into the early lead with Putnam and Jacobsen giving chase as the frontrunners battled through traffic in the first half of the race. Putnam's car showed smoke before the halfway point, and he coasted to the infield on the 21st lap as Jacobsen inherited the second spot.

Hickman stayed in command and led the field on the lap-26 restart, but three laps later, Hickman's slipup allowed Jacobsen to make the winning move.

The last of three cautions appeared on lap 31 when fourth-running Jacob Grizzle stopped on the track, and Jacobsen held on the rest of the way.

Notes: Jacobsen pilots a Bloomquist Race Car. ... His previous series victory came May 7 at Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway. ... Putnam's quick lap lowered the 2010 record of 13.149 seconds held by fellow Alabama driver Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport. ... Hollingsworth failed to make Friday's feature event along with Tyler King, Jamie Oliver, Jake Knowles and Brian Hickman. ... Cautions appeared for James Gamble (lap 13), Ross White (lap 25) and Jacob Grizzle (lap 31) .... The event drew 27 drivers from six states. ... Jeff Smith won the night's unsanctioned Crate Late Model feature over Jason Welshan. ... VRS competitors wrap up the season Saturday at Cleveland (Tenn.) Speedway for the eighth annual Jimmy Mowery Memorial made up of three 20-lap features paying $1,000 to win apiece.

VRS @ Boyd's: (1) Eric Jacobsen, (2) Riley Hickman, (3) Chip Brindle, (4) David Payne, (5) Tim Busha, (6) Ronnie Johnson, (7) Mike Weeks, (8) Brandon Kinzer, (9) Derek Ellis, (10) Kayne Hickman, (11) Robert Gant, (12) Chuck Proctor, (13) Jacob Anderson, (14) Doug Smith, (15) Todd Morrow, (16) Jacob Grizzle, (17) Ross White, (18) Josh Putnam, (19) Skip Arp, (20) Davy Davis, (21) James Gamble, (22) John Owenbey. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Putnam, 13.010 seconds. Consolation race winners: Weeks, Busha. Provisional starters: Smith, Owenbey.

VRS points

(Through Sept. 16)
1. Ross White - 1,335
2. Eric Jacobsen - 1,215
3. Chip Brindle - 765
4. Ronnie Johnson - 755
5. Doug Smith - 740
6. Vic Hill - 590
7. Jacob Grizzle - 575
8. Josh Putnam - 540
9. Shane Clanton - 530
10. Derek Ellis - 495
Sponsor 1188
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728