Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Texarkana 67 Speedway

Smith tops Comp Cams at 67 Speedway

July 31, 2011, 8:36 am
From series reports
Brandon Smith takes the checkers at 67 Speedway. (Woody Hampton)
Brandon Smith takes the checkers at 67 Speedway. (Woody Hampton)

TEXARKANA, Ark. (July 30) – Just two weeks after recording the first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory of his career, Brandon Smith of Flora, Ark., was back in victory lane again Saturday night when the tour visited 67 Speedway for the first time this season. | Slideshow

The pole-starting Smith, whose previous series victory came July 2 at Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark., earned $2,000 for his victory.

Allen Murray of San Antonio, Texas scored the runner-up finish after starting fourth while hometown driver Jon Mitchell started sixth and finish third. Ninth-starting Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., finished fourth while Trey Beene of Bossier City, La., advanced from the 15th starting position to finish fifth.

Notes: Smith’s race car is sponsored by Fosters Truck Salvage and Venture Equipment. ... The event was the second leg of a doubleheader weekend for the series. Morgan Bagley of Longview, Texas, won Friday night’s event at USA Speedway in Sterlington, La. ... Smith finished fourth in Friday night’s race. ... Beene’s fourth-place finish follows a disappointing finish Friday night when he ended up 14th after having mechanical problems late in the race. ... The series will be back in action Aug. 5-6 with a pair of $2,000-to-win events at Malden (Mo.) Speedway and I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark.

Comp Cams @ 67 Speedway: (1) Brandon Smith, (2) Allen Murray, (3) Jon Mitchell, (4) Trey Beene, (5) Kyle Beard, (6) Johnny Virden, (7) B.J. Robinson, (8) Curtis Cook, (9) Jon Kirby, (10) Odie Green, (11) Terry Henson, (12) Danny Webber, (13) Keith Lawson, (14) Larry Potter, (15) Wendell Bolden, (16) Dewaine Hottinger, (17) Shane Harris, (18) Wesley Crutchfield, (19) Joe Long, (20) Ian Samuels. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Smith, Cook, Murray. Consolation race winner: Beard.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728