Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Old No. 1 Speedway

Smith tops Comp Cams at Northeast Arkansas

July 17, 2011, 9:19 am
From series reports
Brandon Smith heads toward his first Comp Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)
Brandon Smith heads toward his first Comp Cams Series victory. (Woody Hampton)

HARRISBURG, Ark. (July 16) — Polesitter Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., notched his first career Late Model touring victory Saturday at Northeast Arkansas Speedway to earn $2,000 on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series. | Slideshow

After moving to the lead over fellow front-row starter Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Ark., on the start, Smith turned back several early challenges for the top spot before pulling away to a flag-to-flag victory in the 35-lapper.

Dane Dacus of Lakeland, Tenn., came from outside the third row to finish second while Mitchell ended up third. Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., and Todd Hall of Charleston, Mo., rounded out the top five.

Notes: The winner's race car is sponsored by Fosters Truck Salvage and Venture Equipment. ... The event was the second race of a doubleheader weekend for the series. Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., won Friday night’s race at Beebe (Ark.) Speedway. ... The two races were the first two legs of the RicTec Summer Series, which pays a $1,000 bonus to the driver earning the most points over four races. The final two races on the mini-series are an Aug. 5-6 doubleheader at Malden (Mo.) Speedway and I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. ... Gary Christian of Broken Bow, Okla., earned the race’s hard charger award with his 17th-to-10th run. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup was Justin Asplin, who saw a transfer spot to the feature get away from him when mechanical issues struck late in the consolation race. ... Kyle Beard of Turmann, Ark., continues to lead the series standings with Mitchell 11 points back in second. Johnny Virden of Russellville, Ark., is third with Smith and Kirby rounding out the current top five.

Comp Cams @ Northeast Arkansas: (1) Brandon Smith, (2) Dane Dacus, (3) Jon Mitchell, (4) Bill Frye, (5) Todd Hall, (6) Billy Moyer Jr., (7) Hunter Rasdon, (8) Jeff Floyd, (9) Curtis Cook, (10) Gary Christian, (11) Jon Kirby, (12) Johnny Virden, (13) Dewaine Hottinger, (14) Shane Harris, (15) Kyle Beard, (16) Robert Lovette, (17) Thomas Dacus, (18) Ian Samuels, (19) Travis Ashley, (20) Wendell Wallace. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Smith, Mitchell, Beard, Samuels. Consolation winner: Kirby. Provisional starters: Virden, Harris.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728