Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Magnolia Motor Speedway

Wall outruns Byars for PRO victory at Magnolia

July 5, 2011, 6:46 am
From track reports
Chris Wall (71) slides by Klint Byars (5) to take the lead at Magnolia. (Scott Oglesby)
Chris Wall (71) slides by Klint Byars (5) to take the lead at Magnolia. (Scott Oglesby)

COLUMBUS, Miss. (July 4) — Chris Wall of Springfield, La., raced to victory Monday at Magnolia Motor Speedway on the Promoters Racing Organization Dirt Car Series, leading the final 11 laps of the 40-lap feature. Wall earned $2,000 for the Fourth of July victory, the last the three Triple Crown Nationals races on the holiday weekend. | Slideshow

Klint Byars of Carrollton, Miss., led 29 laps but settled for second while 11th-starting Eric Cooley of Fulton, Miss., finished third. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., PRO's winner on Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park, was fourth followed by David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., in a race postponed 24 hours by Sunday night rain.

Fast qualifier Jason Brock of Sulligent, Ala., started on the pole, but Byars jumped into the lead from outside the front row with Brock, Rodney Wing, Wall and Neil Baggett in tow.

Byars set sail as Wing took second from Brock, and Chad McCool's lap-13 spin erased a straightaway margin for the leader as Wing, Wall, Breazeale and Baggett held top-five spots.

Byars pulled away again on the restart. Wing briefly slipped to third but got back to second and tracked down Byars, pulling even entering turn three on lap 26. But Wing's car broke loose, and the spin sent him to the tail.

Wall inherited the second spot and turned up the head, taking the lead on the 30th lap and leaving Byars to settled for second the final 11 laps.

Notes: Wall's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Appliancezone.com, C&M Gator Farm and X-treme Graphics. ... David Breazeale topped the Triple Crown Nationals points. ... Eric Cooley's 11th-to-third run gave him the American Race Tires Hard Charger honors. ... Thirty-seven PRO drivers entered Sunday's race; 23 returned for Monday's makeup. ... Magnolia hosts the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on July 8-9 for a $20,000-to-win event. ... Next up for the PRO series is an Aug. 13 event at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.

PRO @ Magnolia: (1) Chris Wall, (2) Klint Byars, (3) Eric Cooley, (4) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (5) David Breazeale, (6) Chad Thrash, (7) Neil Baggett, (8) Brian Rickman, (9) Rick Rickman, (10) Johnny Stokes, (11) Rodney Wing, (12) Jason Brock, (13) Jeremy Shaw, (14) Clay Fisher, (15) Kurt Radojcsics, (16) Tony Shelton, (17) Henry Pullen, (18) Eddie Rickman, (19) Chad McCool, (20) Steven Putney, (21) Kody Barber, (22) Ross Camponovo, (23) Shay Knight. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Brock. Consolation race winner: Cooley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728