Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Rolling R.J. gets another $3,000 victory at Boyd's

May 28, 2011, 7:20 am
From correspondent and track reports
Ronnie Johnson slips ahead of Skip Arp (97). (photobyconnie.com)
Ronnie Johnson slips ahead of Skip Arp (97). (photobyconnie.com)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (May 27) — Ronnie Johnson of nearby Chattanooga, Tenn., took the lead from Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., on the 15th lap Friday and raced to his third special event victory of the season at Boyd's Speedway. Johnson earned $3,000 for his eighth career victory on the Southern Regional Racing Series. | Slideshow

Arp started outside the front row and took the lead at the outset while the third-starting Johnson moved into second on the 10th lap, then began tracking the leader.

Johnson then took over before the halfway point and kept a comfortable lead through a series of cautions for his third SRRS victory of the season. He also won at Boyd's on the series on April 8.

Arp settled for second while Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., advanced three spots to finish third. Stacy Holmes of Munford, Ala., and polesitter Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by NeSmith GMC, Simmons Lawn Care and VP Racing Fuels. ... Johnson also won an unsanctioned event at Boyd's in late January. ... John Owenby of Cleveland, Tenn., came from his 21st starting spot to finish ninth. ... On Saturday, SRRS competitors head to Green Valley Speedway in Glencoe, Ala., where Johnson won the series opener on Feb. 27.

SRRS @ Boyd's: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Skip Arp, (3) Tim Busha, (4) Stacy Holmes, (5) Brandon Kinzer, (6) Riley Hickman, (7) Josh Putnam, (8) Jacob Grizzle, (9) John Ownbey, (10) Todd Morrow, (11) Kevin Gibson, (12) Jason Welshan, (13) Paul Tims, (14) Aaron Ridley, (15) Chuck Proctor, (16) Tod Hernandez, (17) Mark Rosner, (18) Rick Hixson, (19) Mark Douglas, (20) Lamar Scoggins, (21) Anthony Burroughs, (22) Mark Vineyard, (23) Jake Knowles, (24) Brian Hickman. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Kinzer, 14.515 seconds. Consolation race winners: Douglas, Grizzle, Rosner.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728