Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tazewell Speedway

Jacobsen wins shortened, twice-started VRS main

May 8, 2011, 7:20 am
By Richard Allen
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Eric Jacobsen races to a $3,000 victory in STARS VRS action at Tazwell. (mrmracing.net)
Eric Jacobsen races to a $3,000 victory in STARS VRS action at Tazwell. (mrmracing.net)

TAZWELL, Tenn. (May 7) – Eric Jacobsen of Seacliff Beach, Calif., survived an attrition-field raced Saturday night at Tazewell Speedway to score the first STARS Volunteer Racing Series victory of his career. He earned $3,000 in the event that was shortened from 40 to 37 laps because of rain. | Slideshow

The polesitting Jacobsen moved to the lead on the first attempt to start the race while a pileup behind him collected all but 5 of the race’s 15 starters, including second-starting Jason Trammel of Lake City, Tenn., and third-starting Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind.

After the incident, race officials decided to send the field back to the pit area to allow drivers involved in the pileup to make repairs. Of those involved, Trammel, Casebolt and defending series champion Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tenn., were unable to repair their race cars.

Once the feature finally got underway, Jacobsen quickly showed his strength. He pulled to a comfortable advantage over Mosheim, Tenn., driver Vic Hill, who injured his wrist in the first-lap pileup and completed the race with his arm tightly wrapped with duct tape.

Jacobsen led the entire distance for the victory while Hill soldiered to the runner-up finish. Billy Ogle Jr., of Knoxville, Tenn., finished third with Jeff Wolfenbarger of Knoxville, Tenn., fourth. Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Tenn., rounded out the top five finishers.

Notes: Jacobsen drove A Bloomquist Race Car to the victory. ... Only six cars finished the event. ... Travis Foltz won the night’s Limited Late Model feature over Jason Trammel, Rick Rogers and Steve Smith. ... The STARS VRS Series returns to action May 28 with a $3,000-to-win event at Wartburg (Tenn.) Speedway.

STARS VRS @ Tazewell: (1) Eric Jacobsen, (2) Vic Hill, (3) Billy Ogle Jr., (4) Jeff Wolfenbarger, (5) Chad Ogle, (6) Ross White, (7) Steve Smith, (8) Tommy Kerr, (9) Glenn Vanover, (10) Michael Chilton, (11) Jeff Maupin (complete finish unavailable). Fast qualifier: Jacobsen, 11.165 seconds. Consolation race winner: Smith.

Correction: Fixes next series race.

STARS VRS points

(Through May 7)
1. Eric Jacobsen - 580
2. Chip Brindle - 430
3. Billy Ogle Jr. - 410
4. Ross White - 390
5. Ronnie Johnson - 385
6. Vic Hill - 380
7. Tony Knowles - 360
8. Tommy Kerr - 345
9. Shane Clanton - 335
10. Skip Arp - 325
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728