Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Johnson outruns Holmes for Talladega victory

April 17, 2011, 5:16 am
By Alison Williams
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Ronnie Johnson scored a $4,000 victory Saturday night at Talladega Short Track. (alisonwilliamsphotos.com)
Ronnie Johnson scored a $4,000 victory Saturday night at Talladega Short Track. (alisonwilliamsphotos.com)

EASTABOGA, Ala. (April 16) — Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., overtook polesitter Stacy Holmes of Munford, Ala., with an outside pass amid traffic on the 32nd lap and went on to a $4,000 victory on Hall of Fame weekend at Talladega Short Track.

Holmes settled for second at the third-mile oval, which hosted its evening action across the highway from Talladega Superspeedway on one of NASCAR's biggest weekends.

Jason Wilson of Margaret, Ala., was third followed by Terry Smith of Oxford, Ala., and hometown driver Dillon Crim. Reigning track champion Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., was sixth in the unsanctioned event.

Two cautions slowed the action. Busha and Will Vaught were involved in the first yellow on the first attempted start, while the second yellow appeared for Earl Smith's single-car incident.

Notes: Johnson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by NeSmith GMC, Simmons Lawn Care and VP Racing Fuels. ... The win marked Johnson's sixth Super Late Model victory of the season paying at least $3,000 to the winner. ... The night's 31 entrants represented six states. ... The next Super Late Model special at Talladega comes up June 11 when the Promoters Racing Organization Dirt Car Series visits for a $2,000-to-win event.

Talladega Short Track: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Stacy Holmes, (3) Jason Wilson, (4) Terry Smith, (5) Dillon Crim, (6) Tim Busha, (7) Adam Martin, (8) Brandon Roberts, (9) Chad Winkles, (10) Chris Jones, (11) Wendell Wallace, (12) Jason Hiett, (13) Jack Sullivan, (14) Tim Roszell, (15) Brent Roberts, (16) Randall Walker, (17) Chad Stapleton, (18) Doug King, (19) Buddy George, (20) Will Vaught, (21) Daniel Miller, (22) Brandon McCallum, (23) Josh Adkins, (24) Earl Smith. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Holmes, 14.266 seconds. Consolation race winners: Miller, Adkins.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728