Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Beebe Speedway

Texan scores first Late Model victory at Beebe

April 9, 2011, 5:42 am
By Ben Shelton
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Allen Murray (2) takes second from Bill Frye (66). (Woody Hampton)
Allen Murray (2) takes second from Bill Frye (66). (Woody Hampton)

BEEBE, Ark. (April 8) – Allen Murray of San Antonio, Texas claimed the lead when race-long leader Jon Mitchell jumped the cushion with two laps remaining in Friday night’s Comp Cams Super Dirt Series season opener at Beebe Speedway and went on to claim his first Super Late Model victory. Murray earned $2,000. | Slideshow

Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas started from the outside of the front row and led polesitter Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., for much of the 35-lap race. But Sullivan’s night came to an end on lap 25 when a tight battle with Bill Frye Greenbrier, Ark., resulted in Sullivan spinning.

The third-running Murray was able to move by Frye for second on the ensuing restart to put himself in position to take the lead when Mitchell got into turn one too hard following a lap-33 restart. Austin Rettig also moved by Mitchell to claim the runner-up finish.

Mitchell held on to finish third ahead of Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., in fourth and Gary Christian of Broke Bow, Okla., in fifth. Frye, who ran in the top five for nearly the whole race, fell out of contention late in the event with a flat left-rear tire.

The series will move to Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Ark., Saturday night for the third annual Bartlett Hardwood Floor Service Spring Fling paying $2,000 to the winner.

CCSDS @ Beebe: (1) Allen Murray, (2) Austin Rettig, (3) Jon Mitchell, (4) Wendell Wallace, (5) Gary Christian, (6) Kyle Beard, (7) Brandon Smith, (8) Curtis Cook, (9) Dewaine Hottinger, (10) Bill Frye, (11) Johnny Virden, (12) Clay Fisher, (13) Terry Henson, (14) Jeff Sloan, (15) Wesley Crutchfield, (16) Shane Stephens, (17) Jack Sullivan, (18) Billy Moyer Jr. (19) Shane Harris, (20) Jon Kirby. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): Sullivan, Kirby, Mitchell, Rettig. Consolation race winners: Cook, Moyer Jr.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728