Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Carolina Speedway

Weeks comes alive late, wins Trull Memorial

March 13, 2011, 1:28 pm
From series reports
Ricky Weeks gives a thumbs up at Carolina Speedway. (Clifford Dove)
Ricky Weeks gives a thumbs up at Carolina Speedway. (Clifford Dove)

Editor's note: The Carolina Clash announced March 23 that Chris Ferguson was the winner after Ricky Weeks, Ross Bailes and Dustin Mitchell were disqualified after tests were returned for illegally treated tires. The story below doesn't reflect that development.

GASTONIA, N.C. (March 12) — Five-time series champion Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton, N.C., went from third to first on a late-race restart Saturday at Carolina Speedway to capture the 11th annual Skyler Trull Memorial, the season opener on the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series. | Video | Slideshow

Weeks got rolling in the high groove following a lap-32 restart, taking second from Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., then overtaking race-long leader Ross Bailes of Blacksburg, S.C., exiting turn four and leading the rest of the way for a $4,000 payday.

Ferguson followed Weeks past Bailes on lap 37, but he didn't have time to catch Weeks in the final moments of the 40-lap feature at the 4/10-mile oval.

Ferguson settled for second followed by Bailes, the fastest qualifier of 32 entrants. Mike Gault of Gaffney, S.C., and Luke Roffers of Concord, N.C., who held the second spot much of the race. Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., challenged Bailes for the lead on a restart, but a spin knocked him out of contention.

Several cautions slowed the main event, including a lap-10 tangle that included six cars and a lap-28 yellow when Jay Sessoms slammed the frontstretch wall and collected Mike Huey and Scott Shirey, knocking all three drivers out of the race.

Notes: Weeks won series championships from 2004-08 and and is the all-time victories leader with 33. ... Furman Parton's race was over after the lap-10 accident. ... Reigning series champ Dennis Franklin brought out three cautions during a 10-lap stretch and was never in contention. ... Petey Ivey slammed the wall to draw a lap-32 caution. ... Michael Brown of Pageland, S.C., earned $2,500 for the weekend's NDRA-sanctioned Crate Late Model feature.

Skyler Trull Memorial: (1) Ricky Weeks, (2) Chris Ferguson, (3) Ross Bailes, (4) Mike Gault, (5) Luke Roffers, (6) Dan Breuer, (7) Tim Allen, (8) Dustin Mitchell, (9) Chad Paxton, (10) David Tayor, (11) Dennis Franklin, (12) Craig Shuffield, (13) Petey Ivey, (14) Doug Sanders, (15) Kennie Compton Jr., (16) Mike Huey, (17) Jay Sessoms, (18) Scott Shirey, (19) Johnny Stovall, (20) Dean Bowen, (21) Furman Partoon, (22) Dean Bowen, (23) Jeff Smith, (24) Brent Robinson. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Bailes. Heat race winners: Allen, Parton. Consolation winner: Paxton.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728